PDA

View Full Version : Line Length for Wakeboarding

rpdthree
11-08-2011, 05:06 PM
I am curious what length line you all use for wake boarding. I recently got my first wakeboard boat (X25) and have begun throwing inverted tricks (video link below if you need to see what I am throwing).

I have an off the shelf line from our local ski shop and i wakeboard at full length from the tower. When i jump, i am EASILY clearing the wake and landing far out in the flat water. For all of you that jump, you know that this starts to take a toll on your knees and ankles. I have watched some footage of pros jumping (to teach me how to flip) and notice they go huge but are landing perfectly on the wake or just outside of it. Any idea if they use a special rope that is longer?

The whole reason for this is that I want to be able to go bigger for my flips (easier if I can rotate slower), but landing super far out of the wake isn't my favorite feeling.

Im also a beginner, so if you have any pointers on my flip I would love to hear them.

VIDEO: http://vimeo.com/26097526

Thanks

mikeg205
11-08-2011, 08:41 PM
65 feet - do you have the no - stretch cord? add more or take away more to change your landing area in the wake or adjust ballast to change wake shape... my .020002

JRW160
11-08-2011, 09:12 PM
Most people ride anywhere from 65'-85'. It usually gets tough to keep the wake clean beyond 85'.

kgrove
11-08-2011, 09:43 PM