PDA

View Full Version : HD Camcorder advice

airdrew99
10-29-2011, 11:39 AM
I'm looking at getting an HD camcorder. My wife and I have a 3 year old son and we are wanting to upgrade from our old, bulky low definition camcorder. Can anyone recommend a one for under $300? We are just wanting to shoot home videos of our son growing up and his future siblings. Also, how much memory will do how many minutes of video? Thanks for any input.

Drew

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
10-29-2011, 02:23 PM
Go pro, I have no experience with one yet but i will be getting one of these in the near future, around that price range

http://gopro.com/

east tx skier
10-29-2011, 02:24 PM
We have a JVC that records to two SD cards. It has been great and so has the quality. Prepare to buy a good editing software that can handle HD, like Pinnacle.

BrianM
10-29-2011, 04:41 PM
Prepare to buy a good editing software that can handle HD, like Pinnacle.

Ditto. And a faster machine to do the editing work.. Ask me how I know.

We have a Kodak Zi8 and love it. Great super small camera that takes amazing video. The camera is a couple of years old now so can be had at great prices but still performs really well. Bought it when our little one was born. My wife has it in her pocket all the time.

east tx skier
10-30-2011, 02:19 PM
Ditto. And a faster machine to do the editing work.. Ask me how I know.

We have a Kodak Zi8 and love it. Great super small camera that takes amazing video. The camera is a couple of years old now so can be had at great prices but still performs really well. Bought it when our little one was born. My wife has it in her pocket all the time.

We have one of these as well and it's a very good little camera. Although it seems that 1080 is pretty worthless unless it's completely still. 720 @ 60 fps is very good though.

BrianM
10-30-2011, 04:43 PM