PDA

View Full Version : Need dist cap clip for prestolite ignition


liledgy
10-17-2011, 02:50 PM
The 84 SS I just bought was missing one of the clips for the cap. They are no longer made. Skidim said good luck finding one. If anyone has changed their distributor and could part with one I would appreciate it.

ski_king
10-17-2011, 02:56 PM
Sorry, dont have one, but will treat mine like gold from now on.

Short of finding one, what are your choices? New distributer? Duck Tape?

liledgy
10-17-2011, 03:05 PM
Thanks anyway king. Yes treat it with care. Have to fabricate something to keep it secure. I guess I can buy a lot of cable ties for the price of a distributer.

79 S@S rda
10-17-2011, 03:42 PM
I went to Mallory ignition but I think I have the old dist in garage. I'll have to check if it has the clips still. Never even looked at it. I will be back at house in a couple of days and I'll look.

liledgy
10-17-2011, 04:58 PM
Thanks 79, I'll pm you.

boxman3
10-17-2011, 05:23 PM
Lost one in the 80's... wire ties to the rescue!!!

mikeg205
10-17-2011, 10:30 PM
wireties...duct tape... all wonders for fixing about anything... try napa... or some car clubs...I am sure those guys have figured a fix for that... lot of those old engines still on the road in clubs...

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
10-17-2011, 11:03 PM
The 84 SS I just bought was missing one of the clips for the cap. They are no longer made. Skidim said good luck finding one. If anyone has changed their distributor and could part with one I would appreciate it.

here you go, says for 305 or 350 but it might work it is a prestolite

http://www.marinepartssource.com/crusaderpb/220ap53.asp

liledgy
10-18-2011, 12:42 AM
This site is unbelievable!! Leaving links, info, and advice makes me proud to own a mastercraft

mikeg205
10-18-2011, 01:20 AM
I agree lil..luv this site...better than facebook...

liledgy
10-20-2011, 04:17 PM
Tried marine source with no luck. No longer available. Back to duct tape and cable ties.

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
10-20-2011, 04:33 PM
I wonder if a screw down cap will work, by removing the other clip and if the screws will line up?

Table Rocker
10-20-2011, 06:20 PM
http://www.ebasicpower.com/pc/CRU37054/CRUHARDWARE
http://bpi.ebasicpower.com/mm5/graphics/00000001/CRU37054.jpg

shortyx250
10-21-2011, 11:01 AM
I had one break a couple years ago. We fabricated one and it was pretty easy. You could also check the junkyard.