PDA

View Full Version : Running 2 amp off 1 breaker?


agarabaghi
10-06-2011, 09:28 AM
So i have 120amp breaker which goes to the SYN 6 in my boat... how bad would it be to attach another amp to that 120 amp breaker?

CantRepeat
10-06-2011, 09:34 AM
What is the fuse size in the SYN 6?

agarabaghi
10-06-2011, 10:00 AM
4x 30amps on the syn6

the other amp is a Cadence A7HC which has no internal fues, but usually we run an 80 - 100amp inline fuse from the battery to it

agarabaghi
10-06-2011, 10:00 AM
also, the breaker is actually 150amps, not 120amps

JimN
10-06-2011, 10:10 AM
So i have 120amp breaker which goes to the SYN 6 in my boat... how bad would it be to attach another amp to that 120 amp breaker?

Where is the breaker- at the battery? If that's the case, you're fine doing this. The fuse on am amp is only to protect the amp but the one at the battery is there to protect you and your boat. As long as the devices don't launch the fuse or breaker on a regular basis or the power cable is adequate for the load, you'll be fine. The cable issue is capable of causing the breaker to pop and if the two amps take their power from the same cables, use a distribution block for positive and negative. Power and ground are absolutely the most important connections and if the cable is too small or the connections cause the voltage to drop, you'll have alternator whine and your amps won't last long because they'll run hot.

agarabaghi
10-06-2011, 10:47 AM
They are all 4 gauge... so basically it will be:

4awg from battery to 150amp breaker, then (2) 4awg wires going to the syn6 and to the Cadence A7HC.

JimN
10-06-2011, 11:14 AM
They are all 4 gauge... so basically it will be:

4awg from battery to 150amp breaker, then (2) 4awg wires going to the syn6 and to the Cadence A7HC.

How far from the battery to the amps? 4ga is only good for about 60A at 8'. You would be better off using 2ga or 1/0 from the battery to the distribution block if it's more than about 10'. One 4ga won't be enough.

Do the math for your fuses. Worst case is the actual total but average use will be about 1/2, unless the amps are Class D, which WetSounds aren't.

agarabaghi
10-06-2011, 11:31 AM
The syn6 is not, but it is Class H and G/H hybrid, so sitll pretty efficient. the Cadence is Calss D.

The battery is maybe 1ft from the amps.

JimN
10-06-2011, 11:34 AM
The syn6 is not, but it is Class H and G/H hybrid, so sitll pretty efficient. the Cadence is Calss D.

The battery is maybe 1ft from the amps.

Your battery is under the spotter's seat? That should be OK.

agarabaghi
10-06-2011, 01:34 PM
Yea, both of them are.

EarmarkMarine
10-06-2011, 01:41 PM
The Syn6 is the lone Class AB amplifier in the Wetsounds line-up.

David
Earmark Marine

agarabaghi
10-06-2011, 01:46 PM
you are right, my bad. i read the general description of the Syn series.