PDA

View Full Version : MORE winterization questions (also about Perko Flush Pro)

Dr Mitch
09-17-2011, 10:04 PM
I just purchased a '91 Tristar wih a 351 Indmar
With the season in Ontario coming to a close, I have been reading lots on winterizing.
I will preface with the fact that I am a newbie / moron when it comes to engine maintenance, but I like tinkering and want to learn more about the engine and boat.

So, my questions (that I have not been able to specifically find answers to):

1. I was looking at the Perko Flush Pro to ease winterizing mainly - IF I use it, once i flush antifreeze in, do people then remove all plugs and drain engine thus leaving only a bit of antifreeze and hopefully no water left, or do people leave it in the engfine over winter?

2. If I don't go with a Flush system - what is the easiest way to get antifreez flushing in? I know many people just drain the engine...

3. Fogging - I was planning on fogging through the carb and removing sprak plugs - how do I do the sparl plug part - remove on, spray and then crank engine over with shut off switch engaged? Or just spray it in? Once done all 8, do you replace the spark plugs or leave them off?

4. Is it commonly recommended to block off all intake and exhaust ports. etc?

5. Drain plugs (engine and hull) - I assume they're left off for the winter?

Thanks in advance...

aswile
09-18-2011, 08:21 AM
On my '93 PS205 with the 351 I used the flush pro to start it up in the drive way however I was never able to get enough seal to pull anti-freeze through the system. I just took off the hose from the flush pro and poured anti-freeze directly into the hose while the engine was running. This worked well for 10 years. Before I put anti-freeze in I drained the block and manifolds completely, then filled it up and cracked the highest drain on the block to make sure there was pink stuff throughout.