PDA

View Full Version : 96 Prostar 190 high idle somtimes!

skiboyny
09-11-2011, 07:13 AM
Hi everyone,

I have a problem with my 96 Mastercraft Prostar 190 tbi that's been plaguing me on and off for years and now is getting more prevalent. It will at times go in to a high idle (about 1100 rpm) If I restart it may go back down to normal. It used to do this once or twice a year but just lately, It does it for a whole ski set until the boat really warms up. After it is good and warm it will run fine for the rest of the day. Anyone had a similar problem or might take a stab at directing me at troubleshooting this?

erkoehler
09-11-2011, 10:42 AM
Check the IAC.....

skiboyny
09-11-2011, 01:14 PM
Check the IAC.....

Thanks for the reply. Had the boat out for a few sets this AM condition is much worse now. Idling high more often than not. Is there a way to check the IAC or just replace? If I unplug it while running the idle goes even higher if I leave it unplugged for a minute and plug it back in the idle would come down sometimes. It has become unmanageable at this point.

erkoehler
09-11-2011, 01:34 PM
Just replace it.

dietdewboy
09-11-2011, 07:07 PM
whats an IAC?

André
09-11-2011, 07:09 PM
Idle Air Control.

skiboyny
09-11-2011, 07:41 PM
Just replace it.

I did replace it a few years ago. It was better by far but still would mess up a couple of times a year. I wasn't sure that it was the problem but the boat was very usable. I'll give it a shot again. Do you know if the IAC has a high failure rate?

Skipper
09-11-2011, 09:18 PM
Another cause of high idle is a vacuum leak....

skiboyny
09-12-2011, 05:27 AM
Another cause of high idle is a vacuum leak....

Thanks there are only a couple of hoses and they look real solid. Is there a way to check for a leak?

mikeg205
09-17-2011, 09:32 AM