PDA

View Full Version : '95 Prostar 190 floor weakened in back

lancerpilot
09-02-2011, 11:50 PM
I'm new to Team Talk and appreciate any advice. I did a search and came up with nothing so forgive me if this issue is covered somewhere else. I have a 95 Prostar 190 that's in Excellent condition. I recently noticed that the floor between the engine cover and rear bench seat is beginning to cave in (it gives when I step on it). As a result the engine cover hinges are coming loose. I'd like to fix it this winter and was curious if anyone had any experience with this, or if floor joist plans are available so I could plan the fix, VS just pulling up the carpet and seeing what I've got. Anyone else heard of this or have the same issue? Any help or advice would be appreciated.

I also thought of installing underwater LED lights in the transom and new carpet while I had the floor off as well. Any inputs on other fix's I should consider with the floor removed, or inputs in these areas would be appreciated also. Thanks again,
Chad

03geetee
09-03-2011, 12:08 AM
My 83 SnS had this same issue. Repeat wet people getting in the boat in the same spot will do it over time. Take up your floor section that you want to replace, cut the piece size that you need out of plywood then coat it with resin to make it water proof.

This will be very strong and should last for years.

JTR

web
09-03-2011, 12:10 AM
I fixed this in my '91 last winter. For me, the panel was a piece of fiberglass wrapped plywood and the plywood had gotten wet and rotted. I cut a new piece of plywood to size and glassed it with expoxy from West Systems (http://www.westsystem.com/). I was going to take pictures, but it was my first time doing that kind of work and the results weren't very pretty.

I think there are some related threads. Here are a couple:
http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=37935
http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=36527

MIskier
09-03-2011, 01:46 AM