PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Brakes

jdjob
08-01-2005, 10:51 PM
I read the discussion on Trailer Brakes with great interest. My problem sounds much worse, but may stem from similar issues? I wondered if any of you could comment on what happened to me today. By the way I have a 2003 MasterCraft X2 on a 2003 "Sport Boat" trailer. Basically the problem is that my back right trailer brake periodically engages (for no apparent reason) while being towed! I first noticed it when I could no longer accelerate while towing. I pulled over and the back right tire was smoking. After letting it cool down a bit I tried again. Amazingly it worked fine. I knew better than to think all was well so I headed toward home when it happened again! I'm having it towed to the MC dealer tomorrow but would appreciate any advice you might have.
Thank you,
J.C.

jimmer2880
08-02-2005, 06:48 AM
It sounds like your brake caliper is too sensitive & the nut needs to be backed off a bit. What I think is happening is that your brakes are being used excesively (spelling nazi here?) causing your brakes to heat up. When drum brakes heat up they may lock themselves & not release. It happens to tractor trailers more frequently.

But - I could be wrong... take this info with a grain of salt.

jdjob
08-02-2005, 11:03 AM
That sounds like a very likely explanation. I'm having it towed to the MC dealer today. It just doesn't feel safe to drive it when, at any moment the brakes may engage. Hopefully the towing people know what they're doing! Thanks again for your input. -JC-

Workin' 4 Toys
08-02-2005, 11:13 AM
That sounds like a very likely explanation. I'm having it towed to the MC dealer today. It just doesn't feel safe to drive it when, at any moment the brakes may engage. Hopefully the towing people know what they're doing! Thanks again for your input. -JC-
Let us know what they tell you.

Workin' 4 Toys
08-08-2005, 10:34 AM