PDA

View Full Version : suggestions for filling hole from remote?


SWeaver
08-24-2011, 04:40 PM
I recently replaced head unit and new remote doesnt fit, so i need suggestions for filling the 2" hole that is now going to be where the old clarion remote was. The new alpine 9886m unit has a remote that is too big for that spot.

Justjoe
08-24-2011, 04:41 PM
An AMSOIL sticker?

SWeaver
08-24-2011, 04:42 PM
Ps- the old clarion m5675, remote, and 6 disc changer are in the marketplace if anybody wants them.

agarabaghi
08-24-2011, 04:46 PM
do you have the option to get a remote, i did with my sony and cut a bigger hole....

SWeaver
08-24-2011, 04:46 PM
An AMSOIL sticker?

I'd be worried about the lack of a solid backing. Does anybody have experience with amsoil stickers?8p

SWeaver
08-24-2011, 04:48 PM
do you have the option to get a remote, i did with my sony and cut a bigger hole....

Yes, i do, but i read that the face of it is too large for that spot...:rolleyes:

thatsmrmastercraft
08-24-2011, 04:48 PM
I'd be worried about the lack of a solid backing. Does anybody have experience with amsoil stickers?8p

Will a tennis ball fit the hole?:rolleyes:

brucemac
08-24-2011, 05:00 PM
i would check with a dealer. I'm pretty sure they sell that piece without the hole. may not be able to get the wood grain, but i'm betting you can still get the engine turned aluminum piece commonly found on 03 and 04 X-series

bturner2
08-24-2011, 05:01 PM
You could pull the panel, trace it and cut a piece of aluminum, stainless steel, plastic or wood to fit in it's place. You might even be able to find some wood grain vinyl to cover the filler plate with.

rgardjr1
08-24-2011, 05:09 PM
Yes, i do, but i read that the face of it is too large for that spot...:rolleyes:

New Alpine HU? Oops I guess I should have read the entire post instead of just looking at the picture.

bturner2
08-24-2011, 05:18 PM
Bingo. Ebayhas them......

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/MASTERCRAFT-88500050-2003-BLACK-BOAT-ARMREST-PLATE-/190458919125?pt=Boat_Parts_Accessories_Gear&hash=item2c583c78d5

bturner2
08-24-2011, 05:23 PM
Here it is in chrome too. Thought I also saw a bright anodized.....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/MASTERCRAFT-88500048-CHROME-BOAT-ARMREST-PLATE-2003-/200569597572?pt=Boat_Parts_Accessories_Gear&hash=item2eb2e12e84

SWeaver
08-24-2011, 05:31 PM
New Alpine HU? Oops I guess I should have read the entire post instead of just looking at the picture.


Pretty much sums it up, but the remote will still take a couple days to arrive, so i am still hoping maybe i can make it work...

SWeaver
08-24-2011, 05:33 PM
Thanks bturner! I thought they came pre drilled.....

rgardjr1
08-24-2011, 06:28 PM
Pretty much sums it up, but the remote will still take a couple days to arrive, so i am still hoping maybe i can make it work...

The main reason I replaced my Clarion with another Clarion is because of the size of the remote. I have 3 of the Clarions on my boat and I would have had to fabricate something to make the Alpine remotes work. Can't complain too much the CMD6 was plug and play for the CMD4 & CMD4a-same plug and screw locations. Just needed the adapter cable for the old remotes to work. USB Ipod integration is pretty sweet!

SWeaver
08-24-2011, 07:12 PM
I'm thinking maybe dropping a depth finder in that spot and putting the remote elsewhere. Fortunately, hurricane irene is gonna hit sunday, so i should have some free time :rolleyes:

epnault
08-25-2011, 08:11 AM
Did you get a new clarion remote? I have the same dash as yours and was able to fit the most current remote in the old remote spot. I can send you pics when I get home from my business trip. It isn't a simple drop in place and there is some cutting involved but mine turned out great. The new remote is awesome coupled with the CMD6 deck.

SWeaver
08-25-2011, 02:16 PM
Thanks for the offer, went with alpine.

shepherd
08-25-2011, 03:40 PM
Did you get a new clarion remote? I have the same dash as yours and was able to fit the most current remote in the old remote spot. I can send you pics when I get home from my business trip. It isn't a simple drop in place and there is some cutting involved but mine turned out great. The new remote is awesome coupled with the CMD6 deck.

I'd like to see that ep. I'm looking to replace my head unit and am hoping to replace my remote in the old remote spot.

G-Star
08-25-2011, 03:50 PM
I'd like to see that ep. I'm looking to replace my head unit and am hoping to replace my remote in the old remote spot.

+1 on the pics.
I was hoping to go with Alpine, but I think the face of the Alpine remote is way too big for the factory location. Oddly enough, I think the cutout is just the right size.

east tx skier
08-25-2011, 05:01 PM
If you don't want to hog out the hole, how about a nice clock. I recently added one to my blank space in my gauge cluster and it is among my most referred to gauges. Fits a 2" cutout.

http://lh3.googleusercontent.com/public/9OoqGvY7pMtdPvuCKbYY94qlico-Q5K1wJnsyFlusYskBNigXFrC7SUA6XqtSgx6o7kViC8gDTtSA2 nDk_XK-IeTBnIOCTZiCgHVPlyWNGPlqLykg2tgRC6VgQl5bFckg_uU_XA _wAQdMcAeaLo3rkMunQOFniU

Link (http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_11151_10001_442220_-1?cid=chanintel_google&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=442220)

soacj
08-25-2011, 10:51 PM
Saw this on Ebay--no affiliation:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/MASTERCRAFT-88500048-CHROME-BOAT-ARMREST-PLATE-2003-/200569597572?pt=Boat_Parts_Accessories_Gear&hash=item2eb2e12e84

Jay

epnault
08-26-2011, 10:38 AM
Here are the pics of my install. What I did was take the new remote and traced the hole I needed. Then I used a die grinder and triming a little at a time. Be patient and you will get a perfect interferance fit hole. Then I needed to trim the arm rest plate and slide it down. It insn't a perfect flush fit around the entire diameter but you will never notice it.