PDA

View Full Version : x2 vibration

tuchodi51
08-21-2011, 07:42 PM
I just bought an 08 X2 and a couple things seem off to me. The steering takes a lot of strength,in the center it's smooth but break into a hard turn and it snaps over and takes quite a strong arm to bring back. Is that normal with rudder controlled boats? This is my first. Also it has a vibration and noise when turning to the right,which feels worse when the ballast tanks are full. I have only had stern drive and jet drive boats till now so want to make sure nothing is out of the ordinary as the closest dealer is 6 1/2 hrs away. Any info is greatly appreciated.

Trig2275
08-22-2011, 01:19 PM
I'm sure the experts will chime in soon and help you out but it sounds relatively normal to me but hard to know without feeling and hearing it for yourself. I've heard that the pickle fork boats when turning hard really dig in so I can see that it might seem a little hard at first to pull it back. I have no first hand experience with this as my X-15 is a traditional bow. I will say that when I first got the boat it was harder to pull out of a hard turn than an I/O but not difficult just different.

As far as the noise and vibration when turning right... Is at speed or idle like maneuvering around for a rider and such? When I have my ballast all the way full and lock the steering wheel out to starboard at idle speed I may feel a slight vibration but hard to tell really. I chalk it up me being overly anal. I think with the rudder turned that far there's more surface area for the prop so it's possible to feel something. The tech guys will have a more precise answer for you I'm sure.

JDK
08-22-2011, 02:15 PM
Also it has a vibration and noise when turning to the right,which feels worse when the ballast tanks are full.

Sounds like your prop might need a 'tune up'
It takes very little deformation on even a single blade to cause a vibration... so take a close look there first.

tuchodi51
08-22-2011, 06:03 PM