PDA

View Full Version : 1999 X-star won't start after shutting off

phillywakeboarder
08-14-2011, 02:22 PM
Hi everyone. I have a 1999 x-star with the LTR motor. It starts fine the first time and runs great, but if I shut it off it won't start for 30 minutes or so. It'll just crank and crank and crank. When it does finally start, it seems like it has to burn through a load of fuel - the motor revs up to about 2500 rpms (with the throttle in neutral), stays there for about 5 seconds, belching smoke, and then settles down and runs perfectly. I've been dealing with this for about 2 years (and probably 100 "idling" hours) and would love to ideas on what the problem may be. Thanks so much!

Jerseydave
08-14-2011, 08:19 PM
First off welcome to TT! I think we've communicated before on Wakeworld.

I'm no expert but it sounds like you may have a sensor issue since it starts and runs fine at the beginning of the day but gives you problems after the engine gets hot. Assuming it's not running too hot, fuel pressure is ok and spark plugs are good, you may need to look at the temp sensor.

Hopefully JimN will chime in. He's the resident expert on these problems.

JimN
08-15-2011, 09:56 AM
Hi everyone. I have a 1999 x-star with the LTR motor. It starts fine the first time and runs great, but if I shut it off it won't start for 30 minutes or so. It'll just crank and crank and crank. When it does finally start, it seems like it has to burn through a load of fuel - the motor revs up to about 2500 rpms (with the throttle in neutral), stays there for about 5 seconds, belching smoke, and then settles down and runs perfectly. I've been dealing with this for about 2 years (and probably 100 "idling" hours) and would love to ideas on what the problem may be. Thanks so much!