PDA

View Full Version : 89 Maristar 240 Restoration

rsteffy
07-27-2011, 09:45 AM
First of all, this is my first time post on this forum so forgive me for being so long winded. I have two sons (11 and 15) who have been hounding me to get a ski boat. I have been looking for over a year for a suitable boat that would fit my budget. A friend of mine put me onto a coworker who had a good boat he might be willing to let go of for a decent price. I went to look and came away in love with the boat. Itís a 89 Maristar 240 bowrider ďprojectĒ boat. I came here in search of information about the boat and restoration pointers. I do believe Iíve hit the honey hole. Awesome site with lots of great information and knowledgeable folks. After spending way too much time on the computer reading many of the threads, I decided to go ahead and buy the boat, paid for it yesterday. I believe I got it for a good price so Iím willing to put some money in it to bring it back to its former glory.

The good:
The body is in good shape however gel coat needs to buffed out.
Back in 94 it was "upgraded" to a Crusader 454 throttle body engine that still looks and sounds like new. The boat runs great and sounds awesome. Donít know much about Crusader engines, good or not so good?
The Bad:
The boat has been sitting outside uncovered for several years so the interior is in need of a total replacement (seating and carpet).
Most of the gages don't work, the stereo doesn't work, and the trailer has significant cosmetic rust issues (it does have new wheels and brakes). I can repair all the gages and stereo myself so thatís no big deal. Contemplating doing the reupholstering and carpeting myself also.
I'm very excited about getting started on the boat. The wife is still trying to figure out what I was thinking after she saw it for the first time last night, she's not real happy at thte moment but that'll change.