PDA

View Full Version : 2009 Mastercraft X Star Steering Help

992envy
07-12-2011, 01:48 AM
I have a 2009 Mastercraft X-Star. My steering was butter (pinky turning ability) at the beginning of my trip this past weekend. After a day of boating I attached the anchor to the front of my boat, and a buddy was pulling my boat backwards to shore so we could unload. At the time my steering wheel was turned to the left, so the rudder was as far as it could go. He pulled the boat to far back into the land which jammed my rudder. It basically over rotated. So when you looked at the back of the boat you could see the whole side of the rudder. At the time I didn't even know this happened. The next day when I got into the boat, I noticed the wheel was locked. It wouldn't turn or budge at all. At that point I lifted up my engine compartment pad and realized what had happened, by lookg at the linkage bolted to the rudder. I dove under the boat and saw the rudder and realized what had happened. I dove under again and with manually force (all my strength) moved it back where it had "popped" back into place. After this the steering still worked left and right but deff was not buttery like before. It is harder to turn and cant be turned with my pinky.

On a side not the boat was going very slow and not running. I was very surprised to see this happen, and believe it would not have happened if the wheel was straight as well as the rudder itself.