PDA

View Full Version : Clarion CCUMRA1 cables in short supply ...


rgardjr1
06-28-2011, 10:08 PM
Well I picked up a refurbed CMD6 to replace my CMD4a. I really wanted the usb control for the Ipod. I new going in that my three existing wired remotes would need an adapter cable to work with the new deck. Here's what I learned when trying to track down a CCUMRA1 cable:
They were only available for a couple of years and have been discontinued. I found a wholesaler in Canada that still had some inventory and he gave me contact information for one of his dealers that I could order through. It ended up costing $68 but that is still a lot cheaper than replacing a single remote much less three. I did bite the bullet and orderred a new remote for the driver. The y-cable, 25' cable and remote were more than the refurbed CMD6. Here's the contact information for future reference:

The guy's name was Idan
email address: info.allsgood@gmail.com

So if you think you're going to need one of these you better get on the ball.

epnault
06-28-2011, 10:37 PM
The CMD6 is a great deck. I wish Clarion would have shipped their wireless remote. I guess we will have to wait until next year

lawdogg149
06-28-2011, 10:59 PM
crutchfield has them $29.99

fstaslp
06-28-2011, 11:01 PM
I thought the deck came with a wireless remote...

rgardjr1
06-29-2011, 12:27 AM
I thought the deck came with a wireless remote...
I think he was talking about the MF1-which is a waterproof rf remote. I have the older version in my boat and it basically plugs in as a hardwired remote-another reason why I needed the CCUMRA1.

Here is the remote:
http://www.clarion.com/us/en/products/2011/marine/remotes/MF1/us-en-product-pf_1259459740553.html

epnault
06-29-2011, 02:53 PM
That I correct

RustyMC
06-29-2011, 03:56 PM
rgardjr1,

Thanks for the info on the CCUMRA1 - I agree it's worth the cost of the cable as opposed to replacing the old remote.

rgardjr1
06-29-2011, 05:47 PM
rgardjr1,

Thanks for the info on the CCUMRA1 - I agree it's worth the cost of the cable as opposed to replacing the old remote.

The cost of replacing the remotes was the main reason I've been waiting on upgrading to the CMD6. I have two of the wired remotes with the displays, the smaller wired one on the transom and the wireless rf remote that plugs into this. Right now I have 3 of the 25' extension cables and 3 y cables that would need to be replaced at around $30/each around $180 just for the stinking cables ...

RustyMC
06-29-2011, 06:39 PM
Not to mention the fact that there is not enough room on the 205v console for the newer remotes.

Thanks again- already ordered mine!

ccrydr
06-30-2011, 02:08 PM
I have a 2003 x9 and having a similar issue....I replaced the original head unit with a clarion M309 because i was told the remote would be compatible but it isnt. I found the wire you are referring to in Canada CCUMRA1 which on the site indicates it bridges to the M309. Been a bit hesitant to pull the trigger on it. Is the issue the 8 pin vs 6 pin and this bridges that?

rgardjr1
06-30-2011, 06:04 PM
Is the issue the 8 pin vs 6 pin and this bridges that?

This is exactly the problem it corrects. The newer decks use the 8 pin configuration while the older remotes use the 6 pin. The CCUMRA1 allows you to use the old remotes with the newer decks. According to page 25 of this pdf it's what you need for your M309 to work with the older 6 pin remotes:
http://www.clarionrewards.com/teamclarion/app_guide/PDFs/2010%20Application%20Guide%20-%20Marine%20Audio.pdf

rgardjr1
07-07-2011, 07:15 PM
The cable showed up today and I got the tester out and here is the pin out in case somebody has to make one:

ccrydr
07-11-2011, 05:06 PM
how did the cable work?

rgardjr1
07-11-2011, 05:19 PM
how did the cable work?

I'll have to let you know after this weekend. We had a family reunion and didn't get up to the lake last weekend.

rgardjr1
07-25-2011, 11:22 PM
how did the cable work?

I got the CMD6 installed today along with one of the new remotes and two of my old remotes. The old remotes still work, but there is no display on the one that has the LCD screen built in. Love the USB control for our iPods.

DJ 50
07-26-2011, 12:10 AM
I think he was talking about the MF1-which is a waterproof rf remote. I have the older version in my boat and it basically plugs in as a hardwired remote-another reason why I needed the CCUMRA1.

Here is the remote:
http://www.clarion.com/us/en/products/2011/marine/remotes/MF1/us-en-product-pf_1259459740553.html

I'm confused. I have the CMD6 with one wired remote at the drivers seat and a wireless crappy remote that requires line of sight to work. If I bought this remote do I need to buy something else to make it work?

rgardjr1
07-27-2011, 06:17 PM
I'm confused. I have the CMD6 with one wired remote at the drivers seat and a wireless crappy remote that requires line of sight to work. If I bought this remote do I need to buy something else to make it work?

I think you might need a y cable. The way the older version I have in my boat the controller part plugs in like a wired remote.