PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Light Help

kskonn
06-24-2011, 11:33 AM
Alright team here is what I have.

Probably more of an issue with my truck than my trailer but I was hoping that someone on TT might be able to help me out.

I have a brand new Mastercraft trailer for my X30. Everything works perfect except my reverse lights.You can see where this would be a problem, considering that this is what triggers the trailer brakes to release when the actuator is engaged while backing the boat up.

I have a 2000 F-250 4x4 superduty truck with the 7.3 powerstroke. I have checked all of the fuses nothing blown, I have checked the wiring and it looks good. There seems to be a relay for the reverse lamps/auxillary but it does not exist on my truck where the manual says it should exist. Not saying it does not exist, just have not found it yet.

I am going to get out the test light this weeked and start working my way up the wiring from the 7 pin harness.

Before I spend hours on this I thought I might see if any of you have any ideas, maybe experienced the same issue, know of an easy work around etc...

swatguy
06-24-2011, 03:09 PM
Easy work around....u should be able to unplug harness. Insert lastmale end from trailer plug into the first female on the truck and turn on your headlights. Should disengage brakes for you. Works on 5 pin for sure. May work on your 7

kskonn
06-24-2011, 04:51 PM
The 7 is a circular connection so I am not able to use that solution. I might be able to get a converter and then do that.

dihrdskir
06-24-2011, 05:26 PM