PDA

View Full Version : Kayaks

ctjahn
06-23-2011, 09:25 AM
So....

I am thinking of buying us a couple kayaks for christmas. We have kayak'ed a bit in the past but not experienced by any means. Very much novices....

Intention is to go on rivers and small lakes. No rapids. No over-night trips or extended trips... Just a little

I have been looking around and I am considering a Pelican Escape 100 SE. (10 foot Poly; we are both small - 5'8 and under 150)

Any thoughts? (no it isnt a mastercraft but... I figured someone should have experience here?)

Cj

plunk77
06-23-2011, 11:15 AM
I'm no expert, but we have two kayaks. couldn't tell you the brand or the model but one is a single person and one is a two person. But they are both ocean kayaks- the kind you sit of top of, not in. It's my understanding that if you were to flip the sit in ones that they sink which if you were on a small lake would be a bad situation. admittedly, i'm 6'8" 310 lbs so i flip all the time and i probably wouldn't fit in a sit in one. but its just my 2 cents

stuartmcnair
06-23-2011, 11:26 AM
we bought our son a pelican Apex 116 and he loves it...great for lake situations

biggest thing to decide is if you want a sit on or sit in

DemolitionMan
06-23-2011, 11:27 AM
You can still go through rapids on the open top.

aquaman
06-23-2011, 11:36 AM
I have been using touring sea-kayaks for about 8 yrs.

Sit-on tops are the most comfortable. The longer (11-17 ft.) kayaks are more stable and easier to paddle in open water. The shorter ones are best for rivers + rapids. We like to go in the spring and fall when the water gets too cool to ski.

Perception and Ocean kayaks are my favs.

bigmac
06-23-2011, 12:57 PM