PDA

View Full Version : Will be skiing for the first time, have some questions

JeromeM
06-20-2011, 11:18 AM
I have been wakeboarding for 3 years now, I'm 31 so the most I do is wake to wake jumps and some small tricks(working towards a 360), I'm getting too old to show up at work with injuries, lol

In the winter, I teach skiing and snowboarding on weekends. What I love is ripping down groomed runs going as fast as I possibly can and doing some nice carved turns with nice angulation and inclination (looks kinda like this (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_0W1PxAsfNjg/TEd65Mh87_I/AAAAAAAAAP0/czICYpDTxCo/s1600/YSC+HH+steep+.jpg), this is not me but just a picture I found: ) . I ski on world cup GS skis because I like to steer the ski myself.

Anyways, I figure I would love Slalom on water and since our 99 PS205 is I think a great boat for it, I'm trying it. I don't see myself in a slalom course, not for years anyways as there are none around here so this will be all open water slalom.

I have questions:

-I have a coated spectra line, and a regular line should I use the regular line?

-What length should I start with roughly?

-I'm thinking of starting at 26-28mph is that smart?

-How bad will deep water starts be? On a wakeboard even at 210lbs I pop out of the water instantly.

-The shop I am buying the ski from is letting me rent it for a weekend to ensure I like it, which is great. But they are putting me on this one: http://ridewatersports.com/20hospbu67sl1.html which is a 67" ski. I weigh 210lbs, I was thinking I would need a 69" http://ridewatersports.com/20hospch69sl.html as it's more in my weight range. What do you think, should I insist on the bigger one? On snow, I like a longer ski as it's more stable, I have to work it more to turn quickly but I prefer that to a shorter less stable ski just not sure how it works on water.