PDA

View Full Version : My new Boat! and problem?

AJs97prostar
06-11-2011, 07:41 PM
Hello all! I am new to Master Craft Team Talk and I just used several posts to perform my first season tune up.

Ok so I bought a 97 Master Craft Prostar 190 with 435 hours on it for about $10,000 in awesome condition. The boat is flawless and was always kept in storage. The boat has no signs of abuse and the trailer is in perfect condition as well. Im talking no scratches in the gel coat or anything and one tiny tear in the rear seat armrest. I called the shop the PO had work done at and they said it was an awesome boat in perfect condition.

In 2010 I used the boat about 5 times as I bought it at the end of summer. I stored it indoors over the winter (didnt know about winterizing at that point). I used it once in 2011 due to marriage.

For the 2010 and 2011 seasons I noted there was maybe a cup worth of red tranny fluid in the bottom of the bilge after each use which I would clean out. I also noted after sitting for a while there would be about a 1/4cup in the bildge. I have checked all the main hose fittings leading away from the tranny, the in line hose cooler appears fine no signs of leakage there, and the rear main seal is dry. When het boat is on the trailer and I start the engine the fluid appears if the bilge was dry.

Today when I pumped out the trans fluid I noted there was mabe a tad more than 2 quarts of fluid in the ZF Hurth 450D trans. I recalled reading there was only supposed to be 1.7 quarts in it. I also noted there was never any fluid on the top or sides of the transmission housing. Any one have any clue as to whats leaking or why? All bolts apepar tight and I cant find any relevent posts to my specific model.

nitro5238
06-12-2011, 01:21 AM