PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Troubles

darule336
07-23-2005, 02:26 PM
I have a 1982 Mastercraft 19 Skier with a Ford 351 and a velvet drive Transmission. Recently it seems to have started to slip and i would check the oil and it would be a little low so i would add some more. But a couple of days ago it just would not over idle speed and as i would add more throttle it just would not go any Faster. but it would Be just fine in reverse and if i give it more in reverse it would go faster and have all the power it used to have. I think i stripped a Forward gear or clutch Pack. But i dont really know that much about transmissions. Would like to get this fixed as soon as i can. Just looking for a little light on my situation. I have read a little about this but i dont really know. And it does have a fair amount of time on it since it is 23 years old and if the dash is orginal 970 Hours. I am thinking it is just time to have it rebuilt and am woundering what would be the best way or cheapest way to have it done. Do i take it out my self and ship it somewhere or can i do it my self or bring it to a local transmission place. Thanks Any advice would be helpful
Dan

ramjet
07-23-2005, 02:55 PM
Talk to the boys at www.skidim.com. They have parts and a service manual for the 1 to 1 and powerslot trans. They also can give you advice on rebuilding your trans, they helped me with mine.....Good Luck

6ballsisall
07-23-2005, 02:58 PM
If it's eating fluid I would say you may have busted a seal or something. Do you get any noises or anything when in gear?
I'd highly recommend Fantastic Finish Marine, I got a great deal on one for my boat and he can give you some things to check out via phone to tell if it's bad or not. Make sure you replace the damper plate when you do it. It's not a hard install by any means and is about a 4 hour job for most.

www.fantasticfinishmarine.com

6ballsisall
07-23-2005, 03:15 PM