PDA

View Full Version : No power to the fuel pump

Infantryhammer
06-04-2011, 06:45 PM
I have a 2003 X7, and I was going along just fine at 2500 rpm or 23 MPH, and all of the sudden, nothing. I am an electrician by trade and a pretty good mechanic. I do all the maintenance on my boat and I am anal about the upkeep of my boat.

So far this is what I have found. I have no power to the fuel pump or the fuel pump relay. The fuel pump fuses are fine. The wires on the kill switch are fine and the switch has been rung out and is fine. I'm starting to think that the ECM is the problem. With the key in the "on" position, the fuel gauge reads the proper fuel level, but when the key is in the "start" position, the fuel gauge reads empty, this has never happened before. The enigine turns over, and will start if I add fuel directly into the throttle body.

Any advice would be very helpful, I need to get this fixed quickly. I was able to get a tow to a private dock and the boat is miles away from my trailer or a launch ramp. So far the dock owner has been very nice and understanding. However, I do not want to push my luck with his empithy.

Thanks in advance,
Adam
Stockton, CA

JimN
06-04-2011, 07:08 PM
I have a 2003 X7, and I was going along just fine at 2500 rpm or 23 MPH, and all of the sudden, nothing. I am an electrician by trade and a pretty good mechanic. I do all the maintenance on my boat and I am anal about the upkeep of my boat.

So far this is what I have found. I have no power to the fuel pump or the fuel pump relay. The fuel pump fuses are fine. The wires on the kill switch are fine and the switch has been rung out and is fine. I'm starting to think that the ECM is the problem. With the key in the "on" position, the fuel gauge reads the proper fuel level, but when the key is in the "start" position, the fuel gauge reads empty, this has never happened before. The engine turns over, and will start if I add fuel directly into the throttle body.