PDA

View Full Version : Impeller housing leaking on bottom

skongolf
05-29-2011, 11:50 AM
We finally got our 2001 x30 out and when I looked at the motor I noticed a drip from the bottom of the impeller housing. It's not coming from the seal in front it's dripping from the very bottom and a little bit from the side closest to the motor. I am really new to all of this so I am just trying to find out if this is an impeller housing issue, bad impeller or what it could be. Any suggestions are appreciated.

JimN
05-29-2011, 11:52 AM
We finally got our 2001 x30 out and when I looked at the motor I noticed a drip from the bottom of the impeller housing. It's not coming from the seal in front it's dripping from the very bottom and a little bit from the side closest to the motor. I am really new to all of this so I am just trying to find out if this is an impeller housing issue, bad impeller or what it could be. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Did you have freezing temperatures over the winter? If the hoses and raw water pump weren't drained, it could have cracked. Otherwise, it could be a bad rear seal.

skongolf
05-29-2011, 12:17 PM
We just bought it from a couple in Sparks NV and they has said they winterized it and it was stored in their garage. Looks like a pretty easy fix if i replace the whole thing but I could be wrong. If I only replace that rear seal I would have to take the whole pump off, correct. Does anyone know where I could find directions for this?

JimN
05-29-2011, 12:25 PM
We just bought it from a couple in Sparks NV and they has said they winterized it and it was stored in their garage. Looks like a pretty easy fix if i replace the whole thing but I could be wrong. If I only replace that rear seal I would have to take the whole pump off, correct. Does anyone know where I could find directions for this?

You would need to remove the pump but I would verify the leak's location, first. I think SkiDim may have instructions and a seal kit.

DrJ