PDA

View Full Version : Garbage trailer brakes

Brian B
05-26-2011, 04:01 AM
Just cost me a Memorial weekend trip with my son.

These brakes are dog ****. (2001 X10 with 100 hours)

Caliper fell off last trip. Took out clips, springs, rotor, pads with it...... Also master cylinder was leaking when I pulled it back into the shop......

Replaced pads, clips, rotor, ect....... Moved onto the rest of the brakes to replace all the pads......

2 rotors are trashed and one wheel had a galled lug nut and broke the stud off. Lookslike the failed master cylinder was causing the brakes to drag and also cooked the fluid. Fluid was black and had the consistency of syrup.

Need more clips, springs, and rotors and I highly doubt I'll find the parts in town. And/or find the time and patience to do the work while haing my 3 year old son in tow......

Oh, the master cylinder. What a piece of dog **** job that is....... Dont even do it. Pay someone to do it. I'm a trained technician and I went into a violent rage tonight after ****ing with the thing for 4 hours and failing........

I'm at my wits end. How a 100 hour boat and trailer could have so many problems is beyond me..... Looks like my son and I wont be headed to the lake this weekend. He's going to be more upset than I am.

Thrall
05-26-2011, 04:09 AM
Can you just pull the brake calipers off and roll? Save the weekend that way. 1 missing lug isn't the end of the world. Presuming it's a tandem, bring something to chain/strap up the wheel with the broken lug if it gets worse. You can run on 3 wheels...not ideal, but it works in a pinch.
Just read on here, I think, someone did a complete drum to disk conversion, tandem trailer, got all the parts incl bearings and seals for just over $200, new master cyl too I think. May want to find that, he listed who the parts came from.