PDA

View Full Version : First post

motorowlands
05-17-2011, 09:30 PM
Hello,

I've been doing a lot of reading here and thought I should introduce myself.
Been living in Tokyo, Japan for the past 6yrs and thought we were moving back to the US this summer, but that may have been put on hold...arrghh. Anyway, I wanted to have a boat ready for when we moved back and have always wanted a real ski boat since I tried to barefoot in 1990. Owned an old, '68 Glastron IB/OB in the early 90's for a couple years so not a lot of boat/skiing experience and zero wake board experience. I'll tell you it has felt like an eternity for summer to get here. We usually spend June-July-August in the US and I bought the boat Nov 2010. Not long now!

I've been researching and shopping for a boat for the past two years and could not find what I wanted for what I could afford. All the boats I looked at and test drove (all were IB/OB) were junk, poor construction, engine problems, low power. In the end I spent more then I wanted too but I'm quite sure it will be money well spent getting what I wanted.

A good quality ski boat.
Proud owner of a 1997 MasterCraft Prostar 205 Sammy Duvall LT1 with 436hrs.

Crazy how the deal went down but that will have to wait for another post.

I was home for a couple days recently and hooked up to a dry lake and fired up the boat for the first time. Fired right up and the engine sounded great, but when I put it in gear and gave some throttle up to about 22-2500rpm there seemed to be a good bit of vibration coming from the rear of the boat/prop area. Is that normal when out of the water? Also it seems like very little water came out while just idling, then when giving throttle it really poured out. I expected more water to come out while idling. Is this also normal?
I only started the boat 3 times with the dry lake, revved it up twice and never ran it more then 1-2 minutes so if it sounds like something could be wrong, I don't think I made it any worse.