PDA

View Full Version : Dead in the water

Deron Crook
05-12-2011, 10:29 PM
I have a 2006 Mastercraft, X2 and the problem is that it will run for a few seconds and cut off. First of all let me say that I sprayed fogging oil into the air intake last year when I winterized it. Do you think this could be the problem?
My first thought was the kill switch. But it was hooked up properly. My second thought was the automatic choke was not opening up.
What do you guys suggest?

3event
05-12-2011, 10:34 PM
Check the battery terminals and make sure your cables are nice and tight.

Deron Crook
05-12-2011, 10:41 PM
Checked and the terminals are tight. Any more suggestions?

broncotw
05-12-2011, 11:01 PM
Fuel Pump???

rhythm720
05-12-2011, 11:47 PM
Check the battery terminals and make sure your cables are nice and tight.

That would not make a difference, if the boat starts, then the alternator would take over, assuming that your alternator is working properly. Once your boat starts, you can remove your battery cables and your boat will stay running.

Im guessing its bad fuel or fuel pump. Have you cleaned your air filter?

sand2snow22
05-13-2011, 12:12 AM
Fuel Pump???

X 2........

Deron Crook
05-13-2011, 06:19 AM
Ok, here's an update. I have bypassed the kill swith. Checked the battery for lose connections and it still will not start.
What is happening is once the engine starts it bogs down and the engine dies, or it will run for a few seconds. Do you think the automatic choke is sticking?
When I turn the key over (to the point where the engine is not being turned over) you can hear the fuel pump working.
Any pointers to solving this problem?

CantRepeat
05-13-2011, 06:35 AM
Ok, here's an update. I have bypassed the kill swith. Checked the battery for lose connections and it still will not start.
What is happening is once the engine starts it bogs down and the engine dies, or it will run for a few seconds. Do you think the automatic choke is sticking?