PDA

View Full Version : WetSound Syn6 mounting locations?


agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 03:40 PM
Anyone with this amp, can you show me pictures of where you have it mounted.

Thanks!!!

brucemac
05-09-2011, 03:42 PM
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/4740/dsc8167b.jpg

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 03:43 PM
what boat is that?

brucemac
05-09-2011, 03:44 PM
2003 X-2, (205V/X-1) same as yours isn't it?

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 03:44 PM
yup. do you know how big the screws where you used to mount to the side?

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 03:49 PM
Im gonna pick your brain.

1) What size fuse are you running on the syn6? 120a?
2) How did you secure the battery box to the floor. Or do they just sit there?
3) Im guessing the amp fit in the space with the black starboard molded into the fiberglass?
4) Are you running a isolator?

brucemac
05-09-2011, 03:51 PM
i don't recall, but they were fairly short. i remember being pretty nervous and really going slow. i decided against the port hull wall due to the additional work and the vent above which has the potential for leaking. once you pull that carpet back you'll see what you have to work with. they glass a piece of something in there at the factory for mounting amps to, but it wasn't big enough for the syn6. still pretty thick though. i had to fir out a section for the power and ground.

if i add a 3rd amp though, i'll have to probably move everything over there and seal up that vent better for peace of mind.

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 03:53 PM
So you added a piece to the fiberglass to mount the amp to it?

brucemac
05-09-2011, 03:56 PM
Im gonna pick your brain.

1) What size fuse are you running on the syn6? 120a?
150A circuit breaker

2) How did you secure the battery box to the floor. Or do they just sit there?
1 or 2 small screws through the strap (under the box). never had any issues.

3) Im guessing the amp fit in the space with the black starboard molded into the fiberglass?
yes, but not on the far left side. the glassed in piece doesn't go that far over if memory serves. i used pretty short screws over there. the glass is pretty thick there as it is somewhat structural for the walkway, windshield, etc. it's also close to where it turns the corner for the bow seat so natrually would be thicker there. just barely enough room to tweak/tune.

4) Are you running an isolator?
Surepower 1314. no battery switch. 2 batteries for stereo, 1 dedicated crank, ecm, guages, pumps, etc.


.................

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 04:01 PM
Do you think the syn6 could me mounted vertically on the factory added glassed in piece?

Is the 150a breaker for both amps or just the SYN6?

Did you ground everything to the dedicated crank battery or did you run individual grounds?

brucemac
05-09-2011, 04:06 PM
not sure on a vertical mount. it may be possible from a space standpoint, but would be just about impossible to adjust the tuning i think once it's screwed down.

150A breaker is for both amps right before the disti blocks. single 0 guage to the disti blocks then 4 guage to the amps.

everything to do with the stereo, amps, 420, isimple ipod adapter is grounded to one of the two batteries in the stereo bank and then those two batteries are wired in parallel. common ground is a must.

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 04:14 PM
So I'll be ok going from amp to - on stereo battery to - on isolator to - on dedicated battery which then goes to the main ground?

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 04:18 PM
I could always tune it on the floor then mount it up on the wall ... Once and amp is tuned I usually stop messing with it.

brucemac
05-09-2011, 04:19 PM
i'll have to take look, but i'm pretty sure the stereo bank gets its ground from the surepower 1314. which isolator/combiner are you buying?

brucemac
05-09-2011, 04:20 PM
I could always tune it on the floor then mount it up on the wall ... Once and amp is tuned I usually stop messing with it.

you would think, but i found myself messing with mine quite a bit. mostly because of the sub though and because i added a Syn4 about a month later for the inboats. hard to tune in a garage. :)

agarabaghi
05-09-2011, 04:53 PM
ah i plan on only running the syn6 to 4 JLm770 and 1 485pro.

Im gonna run the stinger 200amp isolator

http://www.stingerelectronics.com/productDetails.aspx?ProductId=90&CategoryID=2

kskonn
05-09-2011, 06:32 PM
Just throwing this out there. I have a Syn 1 and a syn 6, the best thing I ever did was add the Wet Sounds WS420 EQ. Among other things it allows you to adjust crossover frequency, gain etc... for sub, highs, mids all from your driver seat. It is great when you are cycling between different types of music. It also lets you indepently control the volume of your towers and in boat speakers. It is relatively inexpensive, I think around 200.00 and it is an easy install. it also gives you a PA feature via your tower speakers.

this might be a great option if you are going to mount the amp vertically.

agarabaghi
05-10-2011, 08:01 AM
I have looked into the eq... i think its $299... PPI makes the exact same eq and its about $60... then again I bought a non marine amp and it only last 3 weeks in the Florida humidity. For now i just want my tower speakers running =P

agarabaghi
05-11-2011, 10:39 AM
What size speaker wire are you running to the syn6? 16gauge?

brucemac
05-11-2011, 11:11 AM
i used 14 guage

rgardjr1
05-11-2011, 11:54 AM
After putting a pair of Pro 485s on the tower it became obvious in a hurry that I was going to have to have some way of independently controlling the tower speakers vs the in boats. I went with the WS 420 to accomplish this. I knew it still wouldn't be enough for my wife so I added the HSE Revolution. It was money well spent in my case just to not have to battle it out with my wife when she's pulling me over how to control the stereo. I have seen a "tribute" to the 420 on the market recently, but I'm guessing that it's going to cost more than the PPI eq you mentioned.

mseller
05-11-2011, 01:20 PM
ya i'd be interested to see how this thing operates on the boat http://www.precisionpower.com/html-version/products/accessories/E-DZ.html