PDA

View Full Version : What is that wire ?


scharette
05-08-2011, 10:18 PM
Hi,

Today i installed a new head unit and a Pioneer remote. The old clarion remote was broken when i purchased the boat.
Behind the starboard panel, i have found this wire. It's impossible to read the tag. What is this wire used for ?

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2128/5702025820_56efda4199_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/36840147@N06/5702025820/)

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3588/5701456697_6174a7d358_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/36840147@N06/5701456697/)

jdhart73
05-08-2011, 10:22 PM
Oh thats easy, its the F Jumper

prostar205
05-08-2011, 10:39 PM
Does your boat have a tower? That looks like it could be the wire to a set of tower lights. That's would mine looked like. I don't have tower lights so I found mine rolled up around the throttle assembly.

scharette
05-08-2011, 10:49 PM
Does your boat have a tower? That looks like it could be the wire to a set of tower lights. That's would mine looked like. I don't have tower lights so I found mine rolled up around the throttle assembly.

I already have 4 tower lights!! and they all work !

willyt
05-09-2011, 08:56 AM
Pretty sure that's the backlight power for the remote. Just replaced my remote.

chawk610
05-09-2011, 09:57 AM
Oh thats easy, its the F Jumper



LMAO No shortage of smart a**es here!!! :)

scharette
05-09-2011, 10:12 PM
Pretty sure that's the backlight power for the remote. Just replaced my remote.

Thank you, you got it.
I found a picture of the back of a Clarion CMRC1 you can see that the harness that i found is designed to connect to the back of this remote.
Can you confirm that the backlit work when you turn on your NAV light ? I will use this harness with my pioneer Remote..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3616/5705773468_7de6f87a0f_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/36840147@N06/5705773468/)
cmrc1sb[3] (http://www.flickr.com/photos/36840147@N06/5705773468/) by scharette2009 (http://www.flickr.com/people/36840147@N06/), on Flickr

bturner2
05-10-2011, 07:47 AM
Just an FYI on hooking up those wires. I upgraded from a CMD5 to a CMD6 last year and changed out my remotes and cables. The new remote cable includes the power for the back light in the cable. After the installation I noticed that when the radio was on all my running lights and dash lights would come on. It turned out that with the external back light wires were back feeding the running lights. This might not be a big deal most times but if you like to sit at the sand bar for a few hours jamming the stereo you'll be it with running the running lights too. I'm not sure how much power those lights take but I'm sure it won't help with battery run time.

BNIROOSTER
05-10-2011, 11:34 AM
Just an FYI on hooking up those wires. I upgraded from a CMD5 to a CMD6 last year and changed out my remotes and cables. The new remote cable includes the power for the back light in the cable. After the installation I noticed that when the radio was on all my running lights and dash lights would come on. It turned out that with the external back light wires were back feeding the running lights. This might not be a big deal most times but if you like to sit at the sand bar for a few hours jamming the stereo you'll be it with running the running lights too. I'm not sure how much power those lights take but I'm sure it won't help with battery run time.

You might want to try to use the remote turn on wire from the deck to solve your problem.

willyt
05-10-2011, 01:18 PM
Thank you, you got it.
I found a picture of the back of a Clarion CMRC1 you can see that the harness that i found is designed to connect to the back of this remote.
Can you confirm that the backlit work when you turn on your NAV light ? I will use this harness with my pioneer Remote..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3616/5705773468_7de6f87a0f_b.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/36840147@N06/5705773468/)
cmrc1sb[3] (http://www.flickr.com/photos/36840147@N06/5705773468/) by scharette2009 (http://www.flickr.com/people/36840147@N06/), on Flickr

ya know... havent tested it yet. Hopefully going to the boat tonight to glass in some HDPE to finally mount an amp to. I'll check then

kskonn
05-10-2011, 03:28 PM
It should work, mine does.

bturner2
05-11-2011, 06:09 PM
You might want to try to use the remote turn on wire from the deck to solve your problem.

I actually just left the wire off and everything is great. The running lights don't come on during the day and the built in back lighting is still there at night. I think the problem has to be with the way the boat was originally wired using the CMD5. There's no need for it with the CMD6 and upgraded remote.

scharette
05-11-2011, 09:56 PM
I confirm that the wire is hook up on the nav light. its now connected to the backlit wire of my Pioneer remote.