PDA

View Full Version : Questions for the audio/electrical experts

dirtk38
04-26-2011, 11:10 PM
Looking to do some upgrades to the sound system, and I've got two questions that are probably stupid. As an engineer, I'm almost ashamed that I have to ask them. But I'll swallow my pride!

1. I've got 4 3-ohm speakers in the boat, and 4 4-ohm speakers on the tower (all full-range, no subs). Can I power all of these with a single 6-channel amp? I know Pyle isn't exactly a high-quality brand, but I picked up one of these for cheap: http://www.pyleaudio.com/itemdetail.asp?model=PLMRA620. My thinking is that I could wire the 3-ohm speakers in 4-channel mode, then bridge channels 5 and 6, and wire the 4 ohm speakers to present a single 4-ohm load (wire each pair in parallel, then connect the pairs in series). Will that work or am I crazy?

2. Assuming I can wire the tower speakers as described above, I was trying to find a clean way to get the wires through the hull. I came across this plug from Perko: http://www.perko.com/catalog/category/lighting_fixtures/product/357/ This would let me easily remove the unplug the speaker wires when i have to fold down or remove the tower. Question here is whether the plug can handle the power that will run through it. According to Perko, the plug is "Rated for 15 Amps at 12, 24 and 32 Volts." If the speakers are wired for 4 ohms, and the amp puts out 400W RMS at 4-ohms in bridged mode, will I melt the plug? I calculate Voltage=sqrt(400W*4ohm)=40V, and Current=40V/4ohm=10A. Since I'm comfortably below the 15A limit, will it kill the plug to handle 40V?

Thanks!!

Thrall
04-27-2011, 01:16 AM
"As an engineer, I'm almost ashamed that I have to ask them." I'll have to send this to my buddy that went to Auburn! haha
Just joking man!
Your theory is correct with the resistance the amp will see and you don't want to parallel the 3ohm speakers, it will fry the amp. I'd bet a Pyle amp isn't even 2ohm stable (says it is though:confused:).