PDA

View Full Version : Ballast Pump Question

Lakeside09
04-11-2011, 07:32 PM
This past weekend I put my boat in the water for the first time since the day I bought it. When I bought it, it did not have the ballast bags from the previous owner but did have all the factory installed ballast ports and set up. The bags are now hooked up and I took it out for the first time to test it. When I flip the center ballast to fill it won't make any noise and when I flip it to empty it doesn't make a noise. As for the rear ballast, when I flip to fill it makes a loud, fast click... click... click noise. When I flip to drain it released some water out of the drain hole still making the clicking noise.

I am new to this and I know I will have to get to the pump in the back behind the ski locker. I am certain this ballast system hasn't ran in a while as the previous owner told me he never ran it.

So what should I be looking for here and what parts am I looking at...

This is a 2003 ProStar 209

Thanks for any help!

djkslc
04-11-2011, 07:54 PM
Get to the pumps and pull off the 3 screws that hold the gold plate on. You will probably find old and broken black impellers. Pull those out and see if the pumps turn on then replace the impellers with the newer green ones.

Lakeside09
04-11-2011, 07:59 PM
I was hoping that would be the solution to my problem... ? Does that one pump run both the center and the rear ballast... ?

xbot50000
04-11-2011, 08:51 PM
There should be two pumps. One for the rear, and one for the locker going into a manifold. You got to take out the rear locker base and pull the carpet back to expose the pumps. Replace those impellers and you should be good.

bturner2
04-12-2011, 08:47 AM