PDA

View Full Version : Pontoon purchasing suggestions

Kummer
03-22-2011, 02:59 PM
I am new to the pontoon market - I am looking at selling the MC for a few years :rolleyes: get a new one in a year or two after the family gets a little older.

Thinking I am looking for something in the sub 20K range (or less)
I really want a pontoon boat with plenty of speed to cruse and still economical to operate.. We live 20 miles or so by river to downtown Wilmington and make it in the MC in about 45 min.
I was thinking 4 stroke outboard to avoid a lot of maintenance and make it easier to use it year round...
We need plenty of sun cover for the family as I have a 3 year old and one in the oven :D

I don't have much of a starting point as to the class of boats ie Mastercraft vs Moomba being top and bottom of the range.

Anyone point me in the right direction ?? -- much appreciated.

cdstukey
03-22-2011, 03:20 PM
My family has a Harris flote boat at our lake house in Indiana. It has held up pretty well over the years seeing how it is the first boat dropped in the water in the spring and is the last one pulled when the dock comes out in late fall. It has a cover but spends the entire summer in the water. No tears or splits in the upholstery and the original carpet still looks good. None of the seat bases are loose or need replacing. It has the honda 40hp engine which is a good little engine hasn't had an issue with it either - and it is quiet when it is running. Not sure exactly what model it is, but I would guess it is similar to their Cruiser model now (ours is gotta be around 8 years old now).

blakehardesty
03-22-2011, 03:47 PM
In my opinion you dont get any better than a Bennington. Harris is a pretty close second. More important than the brand of boat is the brand of motor. Honda, Suzuki, Johnson, as long as it is a main brand, EFI, and 4-stroke. You are good to go.

barefoot
03-22-2011, 04:07 PM