PDA

View Full Version : Viper alarm install tips...

SWeaver
02-22-2011, 03:42 PM
I ordered a viper system with shock, radar proximity, and a PA system. Not likely to come with boat installation instructions, though. Should be here in a few days, I'll install in a week or two.

Anybody got any tips on how to do the install?

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
02-22-2011, 03:48 PM
I'd return it, I have had very bad luck with viper alarms(I'm a automobile tech) for years, if your looking for a way to disable ignition look into keypad ignition systems.

willyt
02-22-2011, 03:51 PM
mattscraft has a viper security system on his boat...

josepcedwards
02-22-2011, 04:48 PM
I'd return it, I have had very bad luck with viper alarms(I'm a automobile tech) for years, if your looking for a way to disable ignition look into keypad ignition systems.

Who makes this!!! I need.

I did car audio fo a number of years. We were a Viper dealer. The only thing that it would be good for would be the shock sensor or maybe a hood or truck switch for the engine hatch. That would only require a power and ground for just the sensor or if you wanted to do the switches , all you have to do is wire them in. What boat are you putting it in?

SWeaver
02-22-2011, 05:00 PM
Thanks for the responses. Though, I'm not doing it for the ignition protection. It would be unlikely to be stolen off the lift quietly, and there is a keypad to lower into the water. I'm more concerned with the prop, cover, stereo and ballast components etc. So, I'm doing it more for the radar proximity and shock protection/warning alarm to wake me up so I can lay down a beating.

What problems have you had with Viper and who else would you recommend for those features?

It's going in an 03 205V w/mcx.

j.mccreight@hotmail.com
02-22-2011, 10:35 PM
@ josep its made by livorsi, see here http://www.livorsi.com/catalog/keypad_start.htm