View Full Version : 93 prostar 205v new gauges?

02-17-2011, 12:59 AM
Hey i just got a 1993 pro star 205 with 700 hours. And I was wondering if I can get new gauges and put them in? Is it possible? What kind of gauges would I need?

Thanks, Alex!

02-17-2011, 09:01 AM
93 prostar 205V ?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??

02-17-2011, 09:29 AM
Congratulations on the new boat and welcome to team talk. Are you looking for a full set of guages or just a particular one.

'93 205. The 205v (v drive) came out several years later.

Post pics of your new ride. We like pictures here.

02-17-2011, 10:33 PM
Yes my bad, I meant not to put the V. Is it possible to get all new gauges? and ill make a picture thread.

02-17-2011, 11:45 PM
Yes, you can get complete sets:


You probably have Teleflex instruments. At overtons, look at the "Amega" six gauge set, the Artic, etc...

I get both their catalog and the skidim catalog in the mail. Overtons seemed to have a much wider selection of instruments. If you want to see what any of these look like, find your local West Marine store and go in. That way you can look at them, in person.

Given the age of your boat, you need to make sure to get the correct tachometer. You need the older style hook up vs. the newer "digital" connections. It will say on the tachometer box which engines it works for. Attached is the kind of tach you will need. This is from my 98 PS 205... (older style, like what you will need)

Good luck...

02-17-2011, 11:56 PM
I changed all my gauges out with Livorsi gauges they can customize them any way you want. I went with white face with stainless rims they look awesome.

02-17-2011, 11:59 PM
...also... I would try to replace them with something similar to what was there in terms of max readings. For example, my tach reads up to 6K. I would not put in a tach that goes up to 7 or 8K... same thing with the speedos. The higher limit gauges may work for both inboards and outboards... but put in your boat what would go into an inboard only... just personal taste.

So you may need to look for a set other than that Amega Teleflex set... look at the limits - they are higher than what you have now...

east tx skier
02-18-2011, 12:24 AM
You can also get new Airguide gauges if need be.


02-18-2011, 12:29 AM
Thanks alot guys! very helpful I'm not sure what I'm going to do yet..

02-18-2011, 08:29 PM
Here is some pics of my gauges, they all were the original size and spec ranges and very easy to replace

02-18-2011, 09:27 PM
Here is some pics of my gauges, they all were the original size and spec ranges and very easy to replace

Those are really cool looking nice job.


02-19-2011, 12:45 AM
those guages look sick! how did you hook them up with color? also where did you get them?!

02-19-2011, 01:14 AM
They are livorsi they came with red led bulbs. Goto livorsi.com they have all kinds of faces trims and colors and they were easy to hookup fit in original holes and had the right scales for marine use.