PDA

View Full Version : need to replace barefoot boom cabling


milkmania
01-30-2011, 12:05 PM
I bought my boom pole used, it doesn't have a manufacturer's label on it.... it does have warning labels, but that's all... not even a "form #" on the safety labels.

well, anyway I'd like to have the cables replaced. The adjustment screw assembly on one cable is bent, and not functioning properly.

I know Barefoot International is one manufacturer, but who are the others? My clamp looks different than theirs.

I'd hate to spend $469.00 because I can't get cables replaced:rolleyes:

Kyle
01-30-2011, 12:11 PM
Pic of boom would help. I have seen many styles of BI booms. They have changed their design over the years.

Kyle
01-30-2011, 12:12 PM
Also a pic of what's bent.

Kyle
01-30-2011, 12:23 PM
Barefoot Central as skylon booms. Cables and clamps are different from barefoot international.

Hope this helps

milkmania
01-30-2011, 12:33 PM
I'll get a pic soon, sorry bout that

milkmania
01-30-2011, 01:12 PM
I'll be danged....
found the thread where I bought it from Skidog... pics included!
Apparently, it's BFI

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/showthread.php?t=13751&highlight=boom

jmw
04-30-2012, 02:05 PM
Anyone replace their cables? If so, how did you get the cables out of the boom itself? I found some holes on the back of the boom filled with puddy and scratched it out but still haven't figured out how to get the cable out of the boom. It's like it was pressed in or something because I can not find any screws, etc that will allow the cable to be removed... thanks for any help.

jmw
04-30-2012, 07:01 PM
ok, here are pics of the cable going into the boom and the back side where I scraped out the puddy. somebody must have done this before... but the only way it seems to get them out would be drill but then how would you install the cable????78205

78206

78207

78208

occva
04-30-2012, 07:29 PM
I drilled mine out. I got my new cables from Mike at BFI.

pram
04-30-2012, 07:43 PM
Did you get the new style cables then?

I have the old GAC and turnbuckles and it is a pain in the butt

occva
05-01-2012, 07:25 AM
Yes, I got the new style cables with the clamp block. They run $100.

jmw
05-04-2012, 02:05 PM
I finished installing new cables in my barefoot boom last night and thought I would share the process/results and costs...

1. drill out the old cables. It's nearly impossible to drill them out from the back side. Cut off the the old cable and drill from the cable side until you get all the stranded wires removed. (be careful as you don't want to get into the aluminum to much)

2. take a hammer with a punch and knock out the old cable from the drilled side. (the hole is tapered)

3. get new cables and hammer them in. I purchased my cables from below and they installed them for $50. (I use"d the Fort Smith store so pricing may vary but I'm sure Dennis would ship you cables 3/16 stainless steel vinyl coated to 1/4") If they dont install them you will have to grind the button placed on the end of the cable or drill the hole in your boom slightly larger to accomadate the button.
[URL="http://www.industrialsplicing.com"] (Dennis at the Fort Smith store was very helpful)

Also, they will not drill out your old cables for that price only install the new cables.

Pics of new cables.

jmw
05-04-2012, 02:10 PM
Here are the pics, not sure why they did not upload.

imjusthereforthefood
05-04-2012, 04:06 PM
sorry to thread hijack but what's the typical weight limit on a boom?

JohnnyB
05-04-2012, 05:37 PM
sorry to thread hijack but what's the typical weight limit on a boom?

I dunno....we have had 3 170lb guys hanging on mine footing

Sent from my PB99400 using Tapatalk