PDA

View Full Version : X14V Stereo Help Needed

BIGBADBLUE
01-24-2011, 09:22 AM
I just ordered a new X14V and need some thoughts on the stereo. I am coming from a '94 205 that barely could play the radio so I am new to the stereo thing ...

Some questions:

- I am thinking 2 Wet Sounds Pro 80's on the tower ... do I need 4 or 2 enough
- Do I need to upgrade the in-boat speakers?
- Coming without a sub ... do I need one?
- Does the Clarion standard head unit interface with ipods?
- I know I need to upgrade/add amp's ... thoughts on how muh power and brand?
- I am going to get the spped controled volume

I will have the stero installed for me but I do not want to get cheap gear or get talked into anything that will not be funstional/

We are skiers that our kids are getting into surfing and hydrofoils. They want music they can hear while surfing/wakeboarding/foiling, this is why I am thinking the Wetsounds.

Thanks for any input ....

JohnE
01-24-2011, 09:37 AM
I'm no expert but everyone with the wetsounds raves about them.

It used to be that a stereo, amp, and sub were standard in the X series. I guess that changed?

BIGBADBLUE
01-24-2011, 09:39 AM
You can now order without which is nice ...

KnoxX2
01-24-2011, 10:05 AM
What are you getting with the boat? I think 2 Pro 80s would be fine. I would also look at the wetsounds amp to push your tower speakers. The in the boat speakers are good. I am running the stock JLs and love them. One thing to think about is to be able to fade/control the volume to the tower speakers. I did this by adding a PAC-1 controller and I love it. I can turn off the volume to the in the boat speakers and just have the sub and tower speakers cranking for the rider. This allows me to hear people in the boat talking to me.

Thrall
01-24-2011, 10:13 AM
So you have a head unit and 4 JL 7.7" cockpit speakers right now?