PDA

View Full Version : Transmission troubles

JEREMY79
07-13-2005, 09:53 PM
I am leaking transmission fluid somewhere. I cannot find a leak around the tranny. Well I kinda half as.ed looked. But it will out to the minumum amout in about three days. I dont where to look. Could the transmission cooler have something to do with this?

MarkP
07-13-2005, 10:10 PM
Not really.

You just put this all together, right?? I would look at the lines, especially at the connections. Then look at the rear and the front of the transmission.

Cloaked
07-13-2005, 10:12 PM
Not really.

You just put this all together, right?? I would look at the lines, especially at the connections. Then look at the rear and the front of the transmission.
True dat. That's about the only places for a leak that I can think of. Patience.

JEREMY79
07-13-2005, 10:32 PM
Are you saying I'm a bad mechanic??? :purplaugh

No I never took the tranny apart. As far as I know all the transmission is 26 years old.
I will look at the front and rear tomorrow. If thats where its leaking what am I looking at??

MarkP
07-13-2005, 10:48 PM
Are you saying I'm a bad mechanic??? :purplaugh

If thats where its leaking what am I looking at??

Ah, The transmission..

That would be a seal. But Iíll bet you might find a leak at a connection as your line meets the transmission or as it goes into the cooler.

JEREMY79
07-13-2005, 10:51 PM
I'll sure check it and see. I could just keep adding fluid I guess :D

MarkP
07-13-2005, 10:52 PM
Bring it up to PA.:steering: . Iíll give it the once over..

JEREMY79
07-13-2005, 10:54 PM
Guess its only fair you brought yours down here.

Since my little rebuild it runs like a raped goat. :woohoo:

6ballsisall
07-13-2005, 11:38 PM
Jeremy, did you get an idea what kind of gallons per hour it burns now?

FrankSchwab
07-13-2005, 11:40 PM
Could the transmission cooler have something to do with this?