PDA

View Full Version : Where to mount amp


helton333
12-20-2010, 10:55 AM
I have a 2003 X2 (new to me - its basically a 205V hull) - amp is under the glove box and was previously mounted on the Sub Box (which I KNOW is not good for a $700 Memphis Marine Amp). I was thinking about screwing it to the sidewall of the walkthrough or the gunwall.

Any thoughts? Looks like the sidewall of the walkthrough is about an inch thick - the BIG mistake would be using anywhere close to too long a screw.

Sodar
12-20-2010, 11:07 AM
You should be able to mount an amp to the walk through "wall".

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_m3bPnaMHpYM/S6A59zfruVI/AAAAAAAADxc/hTWQMlmXC8s/s800/DSC03125.JPG

helton333
12-20-2010, 11:09 AM
That looks nice - that is what I will do - thanks!!

east tx skier
12-20-2010, 11:16 AM
I have my amp mounted to a board mounted to the sub box. There are some who swear this will eventually shred the amp and some who say it isn't a problem. The day it dies, I will vow never to do this again, but until then, I don't worry about it. My bass isn't exactly earth shattering. True, it's not a $700 amp, but it's not exactly something I want to have to replace either.

helton333
12-20-2010, 11:45 AM
I like it mounted to the wall - just looks nice - it had been mounted to the sub previously, but this is a large 12" Diamond sub - huge box, barely fits in the space - I looked up the amp online and since it is so expensive, I'll just take the safer bet and mount it to the wall.

CLTMC
12-20-2010, 12:22 PM
I like it mounted to the wall - just looks nice - it had been mounted to the sub previously, but this is a large 12" Diamond sub - huge box, barely fits in the space - I looked up the amp online and since it is so expensive, I'll just take the safer bet and mount it to the wall.



Be careful on the screw length, it is always better to run a fatter short screw then longer thin screw when mounting the amp.

I would not mount the amp to the gunnel side of the storage compartment unless you mount a thicker backing board first and mount the amps to the backing board.

MC bounds in a backing board in the walkthrough sidewall of the storage for accessory mounting.

Sodar
12-20-2010, 12:26 PM
Be careful on the screw length, it is always better to run a fatter short screw then longer thin screw when mounting the amp.

I would not mount the amp to the gunnel side of the storage compartment unless you mount a thicker backing board first and mount the amps to the backing board.

MC bounds in a backing board in the walkthrough sidewall of the storage for accessory mounting.

What he said...

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_m3bPnaMHpYM/S6A9SY_ZBmI/AAAAAAAAD0s/ruNEArBQ12Q/s800/DSC02811.JPG

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_m3bPnaMHpYM/S6A9KT4eWiI/AAAAAAAAD0k/tbezInu4GMs/s800/DSC02812.JPG

helton333
12-20-2010, 12:29 PM
That's the plan - you can tell it steps up extra thick right there - the gunnell side seems too much risk.

timvan
12-21-2010, 07:12 AM
I mounted the amps a bit differently..this panel goes under the dash where the oem sub would sit.

helton333
12-21-2010, 10:35 AM
Is the OEM sub just mounted through that partition? Does it not have an enclosed back?