PDA

View Full Version : I registered 10 minutes ago. Advice is welcome

iktomi
12-13-2010, 10:50 AM
My name is Bob and own a Garage in New Berlin Tx. I have a degree in Mech Engineering but opted 10 yrs back to walk away from 18 hour days and 300 days a year in Motels. I opened a shop to restore all vehicles. That led to auto repair, then tractor repair, then of course I always had the Hi Performance Gene...I built my first motor (250 CI Chev) at 11 yrs old. :( It was a failure. Iv since improved dramatically. I got the Asian Hi Performance bug when the 350Zs came out----Turbo/SC installs, Motor/Clutch Mods etc. I do my own paint.
Moving right along, I decided to get back into boats. Mostly Hi End. MCs CCs, Bajas, so on and so forth. I have my short comings.

I acquired a '82 Mastercraft S&S that has promise. Brand new floor and stringers, clean ext. No Engine but a tested 1.52:1, New mounts and all the MC water inlets, starter, Alt, Carb, Dist, Water Pumps, Brackets etc etc. Also the New Decals. It is a Black Flake and what appears to be Gray.

Questions. .... (1) This was the 351. Am I correct in believing it was the Windsor ? (2) Where can I get Int./Ext Trim parts...Vents, Side bumper, ...The Bling ? I cant seem to find a place that specializes. (3) Is there a FI motor I can use ?

More to follow but this is a start---Thanx

thatsmrmastercraft
12-13-2010, 11:06 AM
Welcome to Team Talk. Sounds like you have a fine project on your hands. That most common engine for that boat would have been a Ford 351 Windsor, though I believe that the base engine was a 302. A person could order just about whatever he wanted at that time from a 350 Chevy to a 440 Chrysler.

rjracin240
12-13-2010, 11:16 AM
:( It was a failure. Iv since improved dramatically. I got the Asian Hi Performance bug when the 350Zs came out----More to follow but this is a start---Thanx