PDA

View Full Version : New stereo with existing remotes


76S&S
11-24-2010, 05:54 PM
I'm looking to install a new stereo this winter but am not too wild about replacing the driver and stern remotes. I have an 02 x-star with the clarion stereo/remotes. Do any of you know if there is a new one that will work with the existing remotes. I don't know the remote part number and the boat is at the lake.:confused:

bturner2
11-24-2010, 11:05 PM
I've heard different answers for this. I upgraded to the CMD6 this past spring from a CMD4 and had to change out both my remote and the cable to get full functionality out of the remote. I believe the new cable also has one additional pin.

tr6coug
11-25-2010, 01:23 AM
I found this a while back, its a chart that shows which remotes are compatible with which head units. The new Clarion CMD6 and M309 use an 8-pin plug. Not sure if its adaptable back to the 6-pin remotes. I'm going to work on that this winter. I'd like to build an adapter cable to allow my older remotes to work with the newer head units.

You should be able to use the Clarion CMD5 or M475 with the remotes you have. As long as the remote has a 6-pin plug it should work.

rgardjr1
11-25-2010, 01:53 AM
There is an adapter cable to make the older remotes work with the newer decks.
http://clarion.com/ca/en/products/2010/marine/remotes/CCUMRA1/ca-en-product-pf_1259404168827.html

tr6coug
11-25-2010, 04:07 AM
Excellent, I didn't realize Clarion had one. Thanks.

76S&S
11-26-2010, 12:35 PM
thanks for all of the info guys, that gives me something to work with.