PDA

View Full Version : Did I winterize it correctly?

DeVrieski
11-07-2010, 12:15 AM
Hi all,

I winterized my boat today. I have never done it before, so am wanting to make sure I did it correctly. I ran the boat up to about 160 deg (using a bucket with raw water hose in it to circulate water) Then after getting up to temp, I drained the block and maniforlds, put plugs back in, then filled the bucket with 4 gallons of RV/marine antifreeze and ran it until the antifreeze came out the exhaust. Then, I drained the block again - in part to make sure antifreeze had circulated and in part because that is how the local dealer has always done it. Here is my question: If, when I pulled all plugs and hoses in the block, all that came out was antifreeze, does that mean that the thermostat opened to allow the antifreeze to circulate to the whole block? I had read on here that sometimes the thermostat keeps closed even after being warm which sends the antifreeze straight to the exhaust. I am assuming that because antifreeze came out of both plugs in the block and both exhaust manifold drains that it circulated all the way through. Am I assuming correctly?

Also, does anyone know that the specs are for how many quarts of oil the 310 EFI predator takes? I can't find it in the manual

Thanks for your help!

boyd
11-07-2010, 01:15 AM
sleep without worrying. Sounds good to me. I've done mine for years just as you stated except I don't drain the block. You did one step better than me. I think you are good.
If in doubt, you can always remove the thermostat prior to adding the antifreeze. I think you can either drain everything or add antifreeze, you did both.
BOYD

Laurel_Lake_Skier
11-07-2010, 07:35 AM
Yep....your engine should be fine. You didn't mention anything about the transmission cooler....if you haven't already done so, pull the hose off the inlet side and tip the cooler down to let any water drain from it.

JohnnyB
11-07-2010, 07:47 AM
Exactly how I do my winterizing.