PDA

View Full Version : towercam trouble


Holman J.B.F
10-30-2010, 01:35 PM
does anybody know how to replace the nylon ring on the skipylon?
It looks like the cable from the towercam has to be disconnected and pulled thru the tower.
I,ve got most parts off but i can not take that last section out.it looks like you need a special tool for it.

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/picture.php?albumid=365&pictureid=2336

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/picture.php?albumid=365&pictureid=2335

Cloaked
10-30-2010, 01:45 PM
http://www.masterlineusa.com/Masterline/Accessories/Camera_Mount_MC3

Best I can do you. Look around and let me know if I can call around and post back here (you being in the Netherlands, unless you're an undercover G-man )
.

Holman J.B.F
10-30-2010, 02:25 PM
I wish it was that easy,...p.s i,m better looking than G-Man...lmao.

ahhudgins
10-30-2010, 07:35 PM
It's really hard to tell from the pictures, but if I had to guess (and this is a pure 100% guess) it seems that maybe the center ring must be unscrewed. If that's the case, it looks like you would use a pin type spanner wrench to remove it. If it were me, I would check with MC before I tried some thing an boogered it up. I would have to sit and stare at it for a few minutes before I would attempt it.

http://www.westmarine.com/1/1/29448-spanner-wrench.html

Holman J.B.F
10-31-2010, 01:01 PM
It worked with a spanner wrench,..it felt like it was overtightened a bit,anyways,.. got it loose and had to pull the cam cable thru the tower.In my case the cable got stuck behind the speaker wires so i had to pull the speakercans of.
Installed the new nylon ring and put it back togheter.
So,..don,t use the rope guide when wakesurfing and don,t let the wakeboard line catch a pull up cleat,...it will bend the alminium rope guide and there might break a piece of the nylon ring.
As a result of that the footage of the towercam shows a rider who,s not in the center or out of frame,because of the play in the rope guide.

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/picture.php?albumid=365&pictureid=2337

http://www.mastercraft.com/teamtalk/picture.php?albumid=365&pictureid=2338

Machiel
01-12-2011, 03:45 PM
What about the quality of the pics?
Is the 2011 with a HD cam?

Holman J.B.F
01-12-2011, 05:19 PM
I,ve been told that the HU is the same but they install a different cam now ,..or actually a different lens.
I,m dissapointed about the quality of the pov and how it displays on the BIG screen,.laptop vieuw is much better,...A HD gopro shoots better footage,but you can,t zoom in with a gopro.

But overall it,s nice to see some video of your sets and learn from it.$$$ option though.
If you want to make a video,..go with a HD gopro and shoot from a tube/board...great shots are from the handle toward the rider or a second rider with the cam mounted on a 4ft stick etc etc,...that tower cam angle get,s boring anyway.

fstaslp
01-12-2011, 06:51 PM
I just got a GoPro for christmas, and I can't wait to stick it on my board and ski. Hopefully i don't let it sink.