PDA

View Full Version : Adding FlyHigh sacks to stock ballast system...(winter project)

x10vancouver2003
10-17-2010, 08:55 PM
Hey all,

I am looking into adding some bigger sacs for my 2003 X10, and was looking for a bit of information and advice. The whole system is still stock, so the 2 hard tanks in the back compartments are obviously going to be removed...

I'm not sure if I can get away with leaving the stock original sac in the floor ski locker, but the boat definitely needs some more weight.

I have no experience with plumbing, although I have a pretty good grip on how the ballast system works, the pumps, etc. Was thinking about getting it done after this semester during Christmas break.

- How easy is it to remove the hard tanks in the back and add a pair of FlyHigh 400's or 750's?
- Can all the other components of the ballast system stay in tact? (pumps, PVC pipes, etc)
- Are the bags from FlyHigh able to be quick disconnected when not in use?

Any other tips and/or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for your time all! :)

nmcjr
10-18-2010, 04:47 PM
I'll give my experience, but keep in mind I have a 02 star, though I imagine they are fairly similar.

Yes, remove the hard tanksóitís easy and you will have so much more storage and servicing the engine etc is so much easier without them. You can upgrade the hose that goes from the pump to the sacs to 1" for faster flow, I didn't do the center tank because itís harder, but you will have to add new hose from the pump to the sac and from the sac to the air outlet anyway (fill from the bottom, vent the top). I bought a black ribbed vinyl hose from West Marine that is very flexible that worked well. You may have to use hot water to get the hose on some of the fittings, just dip the end of the hose in the hot water for 30 seconds or so and it will make things much easier. For the fittings, check out the link below and go with the 740 style quick connects.