PDA

View Full Version : First Time Winterizing 82' S&S.

OldGlory
09-30-2010, 04:41 PM
Apologies up front: new to TT

I have read all of the threads in this forum and got a little :confused:, so I need some specific (82' 351w, PowerSlot) winterizing tips/how to's. I am new to the maintenance on her. A family friend (boat shop owner) would have helped/guided me this, but he has moved on to a better place...it's all on me now :eek: All help will be greatly appreciated!

JJ

flipper
09-30-2010, 05:03 PM
What part are you :confused: about?

OldGlory
09-30-2010, 05:38 PM
What part are you :confused: about?
For one, how do I change the oil (42 hrs this summer)? There's only one "boat shop" in my town that quoted me $190+tax to change the oil/winterize an inboard. There is a certified MC shop about 50 miles away that quoted me $140+tax plus add in gas there and back twice = $220. Dang rapist...I would much rather learn to do it myself the first time, so I know TLC was given.

flipper
09-30-2010, 05:45 PM
Easy, look in Overtons, West Marine, Barts, etc for an oil pump. I like the drill pumps. They are cheap, quick, and easy. Stick the tube down the dip stick tube, suck the oil out, change the filter, put new in, drink another beer

flipper
09-30-2010, 05:46 PM
This is the one I have. Napa has them too, and most other auto parts stores

http://www.amazon.com/Shurflo-Drill-Pump-Oil-Changer/dp/B00144CU18

Slinkyredfoot
09-30-2010, 05:56 PM
Does your boat not have an oil drain plug at the center bottom of the transom?

OldGlory
09-30-2010, 06:04 PM
Does your boat not have an oil drain plug at the center bottom of the transom?
Would it be near the drain plug?

Slinkyredfoot
09-30-2010, 06:10 PM
Not sure if the 82 has one or not, here is a pic of mine

Slinkyredfoot
09-30-2010, 06:11 PM
sorry forgot to upload

OldGlory
09-30-2010, 06:14 PM
sorry forgot to upload
I don't believe there are two plugs, will check tonight!

OldGlory
09-30-2010, 06:15 PM