PDA

View Full Version : Manifold Drain Plug Broken

Nvrgvup
09-06-2010, 09:31 PM
Took some time off from working on the trailer to go out on the water tonight with my boys.

When we got back I was looking over the engine getting my plan together for winterizing it since this is my first year with this boat.

I noticed one of the pipe plugs in the rear of the manifold was broken and the other ones torx was pretty mangled. Not leaking. Oh crap.

So do I need to get these out to properly winterize the engine or can I get antifreeze in there so it's not a problem? Or can I tip the boat forward enough to drain from the front?

Thanks!!!

JDK
09-07-2010, 11:53 PM
What engine?
You need to get those plugs out.

Nvrgvup
09-08-2010, 11:32 AM
351 in a 83' S&S

Here are a pic of the suspect plugs.

Port side is the problem, starboard should be OK.

I think there may be hope. The plug is not completely broken off. Hopefully I can get enough grip on it to get it out. Going to start dousing it with PB Blaster for the next few days.

thatsmrmastercraft
09-08-2010, 11:40 AM
Once you have it saturated with penetrating oil (don't forget to tap it lightly with a ball peen hammer to assist getting the oil into the threads), I would try to remove with an impact turned waaaaaaaaaaay down and let it lightly work it loose.

JLeuck64
09-08-2010, 12:47 PM
Oxy-Acetylene torch and a squirt bottle full of water.

Heat up the plug with the OA torch until it glows orange.
Squirt with water until it stops steaming.
Repeat two more times and you will be able to remove that plug with hand tools, I promise!

Nvrgvup
09-08-2010, 09:17 PM
Thanks!!

I wish you guys were around here to help look over my shoulder for this one...or at least crack some jokes after I burn my eyebrows off.

Cheers

Cloaked
09-08-2010, 10:16 PM
It looks salvagable. Vise Grips maybe? Just looking at it, as the head appears to be bad enough to not hold a drive on an impact.