PDA

View Full Version : Repair of '98 PS 205 Rear Bench

dirtk38
08-29-2010, 11:02 PM
My recently-acquired 1998 PS 205 has a problem with its rear bench seat. Being a mastercraft newbie, I'm not sure how the bottom of the bench is supposed to attach to the boat. At the moment, the seat just rests on the two fiberglass "ledges" on each side of the boat. Problem is, the seat is too narrow...once someone sits on the seat, it falls through to the floor. Are there supposed to be supports/legs on the bottom of the seat? I see what looks like two sets of screw holes on the underside of the seat. I also see two metal pieces/clips screwed into the fiberglass "ledges" on both sides...is something supposed to attached to these? If anyone could provide a good description of how this seat is supposed to look/work, that would be great. A picture of the bottom of a proper seat would also be nice. Thanks!

atlfootr
08-29-2010, 11:21 PM
My recently-acquired 1998 PS 205 has a problem with its rear bench seat. Being a mastercraft newbie, I'm not sure how the bottom of the bench is supposed to attach to the boat. At the moment, the seat just rests on the two fiberglass "ledges" on each side of the boat. Problem is, the seat is too narrow...once someone sits on the seat, it falls through to the floor. Are there supposed to be supports/legs on the bottom of the seat? I see what looks like two sets of screw holes on the underside of the seat. I also see two metal pieces/clips screwed into the fiberglass "ledges" on both sides...is something supposed to attached to these? If anyone could provide a good description of how this seat is supposed to look/work, that would be great.
A picture of the bottom of a proper seat would also be nice.
Thanks!Everything you said, now makes total sense ...

Hey dirtk38,

All MC Owners and newb's are definitely welcomed. :D
There's a guy on the lake w/ a 205 ProStar Sammy D, I just called and told him of your situation.