PDA

View Full Version : Shaft coupler stuck

MikeR
07-26-2010, 05:55 PM
Hi,
Complete V-drive Newb here-- just upgraded to a 2001 X-30 with 280 hours on it from a 1989 Mercruiser I/O. I worked on the I/O a lot, but have never worked on a V-drive boat before, so I'm new to these beasts and their idiosyncrasies.

We love the new boat, but it has a few quirks that I've got to iron out.
I discovered that it takes 2 hands to turn my prop when in neutral, so I figured it was an alignment issue (there doesn't seem to be any vibration when running, some "gear noise" at idle and intake "whining" at high speeds-- but from I read these are normal)

I tried to undo the coupler to check alignment, but when I got the bolts off I could not separate the two halves of the coupler--no gap anywhere around. So I wimped out and took it to a mechanic. He didn't separate the coupler, but told me the shaft is bent (by using a straightedge maybe?) Is it possible to have a bent shaft but little/no vibration?
I'm unsure of the mechanic's answer now, so I might have to get back into it myself.

How do I separate coupler halves that are stuck together? What can I "bang on" without damaging bearings, etc. Do I hit the end of the prop shaft and try to drive the shaft forward in the boat and the coupler halves apart? Or do I try to pound a wedge/knife edge between the coupler halves in hopes of prying them apart?

I know this coupler stuff and alignment has been covered extensively in these forums, but I haven't seen anything on stuck coupler halves.

Thanks for any help you've got.

Chicago190
07-26-2010, 06:35 PM