PDA

View Full Version : fuel injection conversion

jake
07-03-2005, 09:11 PM
I recall a thread on this topic in the past, but couldn't find it. It may have been on the old board. Anyone converted their carburated engine to fuel injection?

Summit Racing caries a Holly conversion kit for $879. It's the Holly Projection Marine 650cfm throttle body system. Says the kit is complete with everything required for installation. I'm assuming the stock intake and ignition system will work, anyone know?

I have the infamous 4110 on my 93 190, was looking at converting to the more reliable 4160, this kit is only a few hundred more than a new carb.

Leroy
07-04-2005, 12:06 AM
First, I am no expert and have never done this. I searched on internet based on the carb problems and it looked to be expensive (like $2-4k) to change over from a carb system. Where I looked they did change out the intake. I can't remember seeing anyone actually doing that on here. If you google carb to EFI conversion you can find kits and testimonials from people that have done it. The testimonials I read were positive.

jake
07-04-2005, 11:08 PM
From what I can see, this holly system will bolt on to the existing intake, and it's less than $900, not $2-4k.

6ballsisall
07-05-2005, 12:27 AM
Jake, be careful with that stuff. Auto and Marine is way different. I found that out when I somehow had a Auto carb in lieu of the marine carb i ordered back a few months ago. It flat out won't run when you try and plane out. Secondly, I think with those systems you need an O2 sensor in the pipes, that's going to be awful tough on a boat like ours

Leroy
07-05-2005, 02:59 AM
I would like the comments of JimN or EngineNut as to how practical this conversion is. Less than $1k would not be bad when a carb can cost $500.

jake
07-05-2005, 09:15 AM