PDA

View Full Version : Multifunction display not showing speed


Dylan
07-01-2010, 01:33 PM
Not sure if I'm going to get much help here, but I'm not finding the info on any of the outboard forums. They mostly want to talk about Whaletails and which trihull James Bond used in his movies.

On my Yamaha digital multifunctional display, everything works, minus the speed. Does anyone know where the sensor for the speed is? It works occasionally around slow left hand corners, but I cannot figure out where the paddle wheel or sensor is located. All three of my airguides are working perfectly, but I would love to have the trip meter and speed working. Any ideas? I've spent lots of time looking for any sort of speed sensor, paddle wheel, or pickup on here:
http://www.boats.net/parts/search/Yamaha/Outboard/1995/P200TLRT/parts.html

Thanks!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v369/02fx4/Barefoot%20200/yamahagauge.jpg

macattack
07-01-2010, 05:43 PM
Would try this link... https://www.yamaha-motor.com/outboard/accessories/acscitemdetail/5/436/1821/12781/all/1/2324/0/detail.aspx

From the product description, it sounds like the speed sensor is on your transom; if not, call and ask Yamaha using the web site's contact info...

Outboard Contact Us
Yamaha Motor Corporation, USA
1270 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144

Sales, marketing and distribution of Outboard Motors.

Outboard Customer Relations
Exclusively for Outboards
(866) 894-1626

hope this helps, mac

Dylan
07-01-2010, 06:35 PM
Would try this link... https://www.yamaha-motor.com/outboard/accessories/acscitemdetail/5/436/1821/12781/all/1/2324/0/detail.aspx

From the product description, it sounds like the speed sensor is on your transom; if not, call and ask Yamaha using the web site's contact info...

Outboard Contact Us
Yamaha Motor Corporation, USA
1270 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144

Sales, marketing and distribution of Outboard Motors.

Outboard Customer Relations
Exclusively for Outboards
(866) 894-1626

hope this helps, mac

I should have clarified that everything works on the gauge, it just shows 0 as the speed. However, I called a number earlier and talked to someone there that said it's ran off a pitot within the lower end of the outboard. I'll take a look tonight and post my findings.
Thanks for the help!