PDA

View Full Version : You Guys Are THE BOMB!

NewbieMastecraft
06-29-2005, 08:56 PM
Prostar 205V overheating. Everyone said change the impeller. I'm no mechanic and the dealer said he couldn't do it for 10 days, so I read some of the posts and tried it myself. Found 75-80% of the vanes (shredded) in the filter screen, so I knew I had to take the impeller out. Removed the cover, 2 squirts of food-grade silicone, two 1/2 second engine cranks with the coil wire removed and out it came! Whoever suggested using the two paint can openers - GENIUS. Worked like a charm. Remember "Primitive Pete" from your 8th grade shop class? (Guess you know how old I am) Well that's me. Never have the right tool, but an impeller puller could not have worked easier. Only minor difficulty was the impeller flew out of the housing on the first tug and fell on the floor! Since I was working "blind" - I couldn't actually see how it was sitting in the housing. When I get the new one, can either end go into the housing first, or is there only one correct way to install? Thanks everybody. Looks like I'll have the boat for the 4th afterall. :headbang:

Cloaked
06-29-2005, 09:03 PM
....You guys are THE BOMB..... :headbang:Ya' think?? :D :D

Have a great weekend and be extra safe.

east tx skier
06-30-2005, 10:46 AM
Agreed, we rule! Nicely done.

jmac197
06-30-2005, 11:00 AM
A new impeller can go in either end first. Put a liberal coat of vaseline on to help slide it in. The vanes are going to need to be compressed a bit to allow the hub of the impeller to fit on the shaft properly. Try twisting the impeller a little before you engage the pump shaft to bend the vanes. I'm not sure which way your pump rotates, clockwise or counter clockwise, but you should make sure you twist it in the same direction.

Anyone else know which direction the pump goes? You could look at the old impeller and if there is any indication to which direction it was and just do the same!!

Later
Jim

east tx skier