PDA

View Full Version : Plug wires


treptowr
06-18-2010, 10:44 AM
Was having issues with my boat last fall and purchased some plug wires. Never installed them because the problem was figured out before I got the wires (distributor cap). I didn't want to install them last year cuz I wanted to make sure that the problem was just the distributor cap before I did anything else. I was going to put them on this weekend now that I'm pretty confident after a few runs that the issue was solved. The current wires are numbered with little white tags. If I just pull off one wire at a time to replace, is there really any reason to have to number the new wires? Thanks.

thatsmrmastercraft
06-18-2010, 10:46 AM
They are just there to help insure you don't lose track. One wire at a time is definitely the way to go.

03 35th Anniversary
06-18-2010, 11:02 AM
They are just there to help insure you don't lose track. One wire at a time is definitely the way to go.
.................

X2

treptowr
06-19-2010, 06:28 PM
Just replaced them. One at a time. Actually carefully peeled the stickers off the old ones and put them on the new ones as I changed them. We'll see if they hold. Seem like they will.

TMCNo1
06-19-2010, 07:05 PM
If the old wire tags won't stay on, you can get some here, http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/KeywordSearchCmd?storeId=10001&catalogId=10002&langId=-1&N=0&Ntk=all&Jnar=0&Ne=1%2B2%2B3%2B1147708&searchTerm=spark+plug++wire+numbers.. Most will fit up to 8mm wires.
59060