PDA

View Full Version : Wakesurfing - 2nd time out

CantRepeat
06-17-2010, 10:05 AM
So, I weighted down the Maristar as much as I thought was safe, wish I could go more and went surfing. This is only the second time out for me, so I'm still learning, I think. I know it's more of a skill thing that keeps me from staying in the sweet spot and dropping the rope. I've done some reading and questioning on boards so I may be getting a new board here soon. Something with more glide.

It seems the minute I go to far forward, out into the flat, I lose all speed and then would just roll over the lip and out of the wave if I wasn't using the rope. That would make for some pretty short rides. I guess it's just more practice at this point.

Anyway, here's the video, with some cheesy editing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLsQ9QBCsPw

BriEOD
06-17-2010, 10:19 AM
Do you have Perfect Pass? I was on a friends new SV-11 Nautique over the weekend and he had integrated ballast, etc. But, without PP to hold a steady speed it was really challenging to surf. Sitting at 9-12 mph is not an easy speed to hold as the boat wants to come on and off of plane. FWIW.

CantRepeat
06-17-2010, 10:26 AM
Hey Brian,

No, no PP. Just a GPS on the dash and my wife driving and taking Qs from me. It seems by just adding one or two people you completely change the wake and speed needed to get the best wake.

Ubugme2
06-17-2010, 12:09 PM
If your interested in finding out about some boards give us a call at 1-800-568-7034 Towanza Wakesurfing

jmcentire
06-17-2010, 12:31 PM
When you get pushed out into the flats make sure you carve towards the wake to catch it again...you pretty much want the wake to hit the side of your board so there is more surface area to get you going again.