PDA

View Full Version : Holley 4160

dchatagnon
06-28-2005, 06:04 PM
Hey,

I just bought a new carb Holley 4160 from skidim for my 93' prostar.
Everything is working fine. But I'm wondering when the 4 barrels are open? After warming up? choke adjustment?
I was looking whith the engine cold, and I saw only the 2 barrels (front ones) opening when I was playing with the idlle?

thanks for all your reply.

Damien

east tx skier
06-28-2005, 06:11 PM
Basically, somewhere headed toward the ski speeds. Bury the throttle, they'll open up.

robisjo
06-28-2005, 06:13 PM
I am no mechanic but like to tinker once in a while. It is my understanding the other two barrels only open when needed, like when you punch it. When cruising and idling the carb only uses two barrels. If it used all four, you would get really bad gas mileage.

G-man
06-28-2005, 06:50 PM
They open around 3400 rpms sstart pulling skiers at 34-36 mph and you'll know they are open as you watch the gas guage, just a slight exageration

FrankSchwab
06-28-2005, 06:55 PM
They open when you've got the throttle pushed all the way forward, and the engine RPM's are climbing.

The secondaries aren't designed to meter small amounts of fuel like the primaries; they can't do that very well. They're designed to move a lot of air, and get a lot of fuel into it; to do that, the engine has to be spinning fast enough to suck in a lot of air, and the throttle has to be pushed open enough to let the air through.

Try looking at full throttle with a boat speed over 30 or so. They should be wide open.

/frank

Cloaked
06-28-2005, 10:28 PM
.......Try looking at full throttle with a boat speed over 30 or so. They should be wide open.

My favorite part! :D :D

You can hear the carb suck when you're gouging on it.... :steering:

HowZ about a pic of the 93 model yEr tinkering with??

Tennesseeski
07-08-2005, 05:24 AM